Conway elects new mayor

Published 9:20 am Thursday, November 5, 2015


Staff Writer

There were a few surprises in Northampton County’s unofficial results from Tuesday’s municipal elections.

The unofficial results are the raw votes recorded into the computer. The vote will not be official until Board of Elections officials review the vote tally from the computer and compare them to the paper ballots. When complete the Board of Elections will certify them to declare they’re official.

The major surprises in the unofficial results have Conway’s sitting mayor defeated and a Rich Square town commissioner being defeated by a write-in candidate.

In Conway, incumbent Mayor Brian Bolton was defeated by Tommy Barrett, 135 votes to 62.

On Conway’s Town Commission, the unofficial winners are incumbents Gale Wade (131 votes), Stewart Woodard (130), Willie Simmons (111), and challengers Lokie Majette (121), and Walter Lee Duke Jr. (105). Incumbent Alan Harris (74) and challengers Taylor Ward (87) and Christine Stephenson (71) failed to capture voters.

In Rich Square, incumbent Mayor Doris Risper (102) defeated Peggy Cary (73).

For Rich Square Town Commission, incumbents Charles Eason (114 votes), Raymond Joyner (101), and Reginald White (101) won, as did challenger Larry Godwin (158). Incumbent Town Commissioner Marcia Majette (74) was defeated by write-in candidate Linwood Bryant (90) to round out the board. Two other write-in votes sere recorded.

In Garysburg, Mayor Roy Bell (79 votes) ran unopposed.

For the Garysburg Town Commission, the winners were Lois Ausby (76 votes), James Mayo (76), Iris Williams (76), Woodrow Harding Jr. (74), and Semiko Jacobs (69). There was no opposition.

For Gaston Mayor, James Moore (78 votes) defeated Donald W. Conner (68).

For Gaston Town Commission, the winning three were Jerry Dickerson (74 votes), James Norton (79), and incumbent Deborah Lee James (64). The losing candidates were Mike Acree (56), Alice Delbridge (59), and Della Johnson (51).

In Jackson, Jason Morris (56 votes) won the mayoral election. He was a town councilman, but ran for mayor when Jim Gossip opted not to seek another term.

On the Jackson Town Council, incumbents Bill Futrell (60 votes) and Stevie Harrell (58) won, both running unopposed.

In Lasker, Mayor Dick Collier (13 votes) ran unopposed.

The Lasker Town Commission had incumbents Charles Daughtry (13 votes), and Robin Gibson (12), and newcomer Stevie Flythe (12) elected without opposition.

Seaboard elected Ruth Bek (23) and incumbent Geraldine Langford (49). They ran unopposed.

In Severn, Mayor George McGee (30 votes) ran unopposed.

The Severn Town Commission race had no opposition for the five winners: Eloise Martin (28 votes), Joseph Holloman (26), Parker Wilson (26), Paige Pinnix (30), and Tony Herman (28).

For Woodland mayor, Kenneth Manuel (68 votes) easily outdistanced “write-in” (49) and Blake Lassiter (6).

On the Woodland Town Commission, Pat Liverman (95 votes) and Cecil Harkey Jr. (88) won without opposition.

Finally the Roanoke-Rapids Sanitary District Board of Directors seats were won by incumbents Gene St. Clair (69 votes), Steve Holliday (92), and Jack Barber (81), all without opposition.