Election stalemate ends

Published 5:06 pm Wednesday, November 13, 2013

In politics, there’s no such thing as a tie as a winner must be determined.

The Nov. 5 balloting for the last of two available seats on the Woodland Town Commission ended in a stalemate between former mayor Margaret E. Burgwyn and write-in candidate Ronald Lewis Lane, each with 22 votes.

During Tuesday’s traditional canvass of all ballots cast countywide, that tie was broken inside the Northampton County Board of Elections office in Jackson where the two names were written on individual slips of paper and placed into a cap. According to Susie Squire, Northampton Elections Director, a neutral party reached inside the cap and drew out one slip, that containing Lane’s name, thus declaring him as the winner.

Squire said the random drawing took place in front of the Northampton County Board of Elections.

David L. Cooper, who filed for reelection, was named on 43 ballots and will retain his seat on the Woodland Town Commission.

Meanwhile, another write-in candidate has officially earned a seat on the Conway Town Commission. Tommy Barrett received 110 of the 139 write-in votes cast during the Nov. 5 municipal election. The support shown to Barrett made him the leading vote-getter among the five candidates listed on the ballot. Of that five, the top four vote-getters will be seated as Conway Commissioners – Willie G. Simmons (97), Lance Jenkins (82), Gail C. Wade (70), and Alan C. Harris (66). The fifth candidate on the ballot, James Thomas Jilcott, received 60 votes.

Long-time Conway Mayor Brian Bolton ran unopposed and collected 79 votes.

The only other municipal seat determined by the write-in process was on the Seaboard Town Commission where Geraldine Langford was named on 42 of the 51 write-in ballots to fill a two-year unexpired term in that town.

Other Seaboard Commissioners verified Tuesday as winners were William M. Gallimore (109), Danny Hines (98), and Laquitta Barnes (86); as was the town’s mayor, Bobie N. Moss (119).

In Severn, incumbent Mayor George McGee ran unopposed and will see another term thanks to receiving 29 votes. Likewise for veteran Severn Town Commissioners – Eloise Martin topped that vote by being named on 27 ballots and will be joined at the table by R. Parker Watson Jr. (26 votes), Joseph Troy Holloman (26), Rita McKeown (25) and Tony Herman (22).

Incumbent Rich Square Mayor Doris (Peggy) Risper returns to office with 53 votes. She ran unopposed, as did the five candidates running for Town Commissioner – Charles Eason with 53 votes, along with 51 votes each for Linwood C. Bryant, Raymond Joyner, Marcia P. Majett, and Reginald White.

In Lasker, Stevie Flythe (22 votes) and 20 votes each for Charles M. Daughtry Jr. and Robin Gibson earned that trio the three seats on the Town Commission. Long-time Lasker Mayor Dick Collier ran unopposed and returns for another term with 22 votes.

Jackson voters had three choices for the three openings on the Town Commission. Earning those seats were Mary Ann L. Crawley (46 votes), Jason Morris (44) and Karin J. Clements (42).

Franklin L. Manning (83 votes) and Tony Hux Sr. (69) won the election for the two seats on the Gaston Town Commission. Also receiving votes were Alice Patrick Delbridge (43) and Ericia Niccole Garner Hawkins (39).

Jason Moore, running unopposed, won the Gaston Mayor’s seat with 90 votes.

In Garysburg, Mayor Roy L. Bell returns to office with 81 votes. He was unopposed. For Garysburg Town Commissioner, five seats were earned by Iris F. Williams (81 votes), Woodrow W. Harding Jr. (78), James M. Mayo (78), Lola S. Ausby (77), and Chemeka L. Williams (76).

Three seats from NorthamptonCounty were available for the Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District Board of Directors. They were earned by Paul W. Heaton Jr. (84 votes), James (Jim) Bailey (80), and Gene St. Clair (53). Dom Fenner placed fourth with 33 votes.

All votes are now official following Tuesday’s canvass.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal