Tinkhams rule Aulander

Published 11:11 am Thursday, November 9, 2017

AULANDER – Never underestimate the power of a well-orchestrated write-in political campaign.

That ploy was successful here on Tuesday where an incumbent Aulander Town Commissioner won reelection and will be joined on that governing board by two family members that both claimed victory by write-in votes.

According to the unofficial tallies from Tuesday’s municipal election, incumbent Aulander Commissioner Jason Tinkham was the leading vote-getter as he was named on 100 ballots.

Of the 158 Aulander citizens that cast write-in ballots, 89 did so for Jeanette Tinkham while Jamie Tinkham (the brother of Jason) was named on 68 write-in ballots. Jeanette Tinkham, who served several years ago on the Aulander Commission, is related to Jason and Jamie Tinkham.

There were only three available seats on this election cycle in Aulander, meaning Jerry Welch (57 votes) along with incumbents Ron Poppell (54) and Philip L. Thomas (52) were left on the outside.

Tony Hoggard was among the final voters to cast a ballot at the Powellsville polling place on Tuesday evening. Election results from that town saw one incumbent Commissioner win and another suffer defeat. | Staff Photo by Gene Motley

Elsewhere in Bertie County municipal races, incumbent Windsor Mayor James F. (Jimmy) Hoggard was unopposed and gain another term by earning 274 votes.

In one race for Windsor Town Commissioner, incumbent David Overton (208 votes) was joined in the winner’s circle by Randy (Coach) Whitaker (161 votes). Incumbent Jon Powell (135) was defeated in his reelection bid.

Also in Windsor, Randy Walston (175 votes) defeated Jason (Heavy) White (120) to complete the unexpired term of the late mayor-pro tem and longtime commissioner Bobby Brown, who passed away last March while still in office.  Amy Williford was appointed to Brown’s seat, but opted not to run to fill the unexpired term. Walston will serve out the final two years of Brown’s original four-year term.

Two incumbent mayors of Bertie County municipalities were defeated on Tuesday.

In Roxobel, former mayor Gary Johnson more than “doubled-up” incumbent Alvin Lee Simmons, 59-24.

Over in Lewiston-Woodville, incumbent Mayor Dayle Joyner Vaughan lost her reelection bid to current Town Councilman James Earl Pugh. Vaughan collected 36 votes while Pugh won the seat by being named on 70 ballots.

Four seats on the Roxobel Town Commission were up for grabs. They were earned by Robert L. Phelps (63 votes), David Lee Baisey Sr. (57), Manuel L. Joyner Sr. (45) and Carolyn Bracy (44). Alton H. Parker placed fifth with 36 votes.

Two incumbents on the Lewiston-Woodville Town Council ran unopposed and were reelected: DiAnne Bazemore, the Lewiston District representative, with 68 votes; and Woodville District representative June Jernigan with 64 votes.

In Powellsville, one incumbent member of the Town Commission was reelected – Carlyle Hoggard with 43 votes – while another, J.T. Watford (27 votes) was defeated.

Two newcomers will join Powellsville’s governing board: Hattie Askew and Gerald Waters, who received 42 and 32 votes respectively.

For Powellsville Mayor, former Town Commissioner James Peele sought that position and was unopposed in his bid. He won that seat with 42 votes.

Incumbents ruled in the remaining municipal races in Bertie County. All were unopposed.

In Askewville, Mayor Gloria Bryant won another term with 18 votes while Town Commissioners Carla Pesce (18 votes) and 15 votes each for Mike Baker and Kay White Brantley sends that trio back to office.

Colerain Town Commissioners Bill Harrell (10 votes) and Duncan Hughes (6) won reelection.

Kelford Mayor Bailey N. Parker was reelected with 24 votes while incumbent Town Commission members John (Timmy) Eaton (28 votes), Tim Emory (24), Jim T. Harrell (21), Wayne Bland (20) and James Bland Jr. (18) all earned another term.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal