Incumbents sweep Bertie elections

Published 11:13 pm Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Form held for the incumbents in municipal elections in Bertie County Tuesday night.

Of the county’s eight municipalities where voting was held, only two races were contested, both for their various town council seats.

In Lewiston-Woodville there is a council seat representing Lewiston, and another representing Woodville. DiAnne Bazemore outpolled challenger James Earl Pugh 56 votes to 48 to win the Lewiston seat while June Davis Jernigan won the Woodville council seat with 83 votes. Dayle Vaughan polled 96 votes to earn the Mayor’s seat for the first time. Vaughan had served 16 years as a member of the Town Council, including the position of Mayor Pro-Tem.

The other contested vote came in Windsor where Lawrence Carter sought election for the final two years on the unexpired term of Windsor Councilman Hoyt Cooper, who moved out of town; and Cathy Wilson looked to fill the unexpired two years remaining on the term of the late Collins Cooper. The third candidate on the ballot for one of the unexpired seats was former councilman T.R. ‘Buddy’ Shaw.

According to election rules all three candidates seeking to fill the two unexpired terms were on the ballot with the two highest vote-getters serving out the term.

Wilson was the top vote-getter among the trio: garnering 239 votes.  Carter was second, commanding 220 votes, while Shaw finished with 85 votes.

Windsor mayor James F. Hoggard, III led all vote-getters county-wide, polling 289 votes as he was re-elected uncontested.

Elsewhere, Powellsville Mayor Thomas Asbell was re-elected to another term with 47 votes. The three current Powellsville town commissioners were also swept back in office: Carlyle Hoggard with 42 votes, James Peele with 40 votes, and Joseph (JT) Watford with 8.

Colerain Councilman Duncan Hughes (11 votes) outpolled fellow incumbents Bill Harrell (10) and Robert Kaylor (8).  Also on the ballot Anthony Rawls won the unexpired seat of council member Thomas Waicul, who resigned; and Rawls will retain that seat thru 2015.

Five seats were up for election in Kelford, but only four incumbents appeared on the ballot: Letitia Harris, James Harvey Bland, Jr. was top vote-getter (22 votes) with 21 for Wayne Bland, 18 for John (Timmy) Eaton and 17 for Letitia Harris. According to election rules, the fifth seat – currently held by Frank Harris, who did not file for re-election – will be filled with the write-in candidate who receives the most votes, and that leading write-in candidate was not known at press time. Meanwhile, incumbent Kelford mayor Bailey Parker was also re-elected with 25 votes.

In Aulander, Jason Tinkham (38 votes) and Ron Poppell (37 votes) retained their council seats and Philip L. Thomas with 34 votes won the third council seat which will be vacated by Dennis Wilder, who did not seek re-election.

In Askewville, Gloria Mae Bryant (39 votes) will succeed John Pierce for mayor; though write-in candidates polled 21 votes. Michael Baker and Kay Brantley, with 51 and 49 votes respectively, won re-election to the Askewville Town Council with Carla Pesce (34 votes) winning the third seat up for election.

Finally in Bertie County, Roxobel mayor Gary Johnson was voted back in with 27 votes and the four incumbents for town council: Sammy Pruden (26 votes), Stanley Harrell (25 votes), David Baisey (23 votes), and Henry Boschen (23 votes) were also winners on Tuesday.

All election results are unofficial until confirmed by the county Board of Elections.