‘Blue’ Salute

Published 5:22 pm Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

JACKSON – Officers from law enforcement agencies in Northampton and Halifax counties gathered together on Friday, May 17 to honor fellow officers who have fallen in the line of duty.

Tare Davis, a Master Trooper with the North Carolina State Highway Patrol, served as the featured speaker at the fallen officers memorial. Staff Photo by Holly Taylor

The memorial ceremony, which was held in the main courtroom of the historic courthouse in Jackson, was conducted by Northampton County Lodge #47 Fraternal Order of Police.

“Annually, we come together, locally and nationwide, in this solemn ceremony of honor to remember our fallen brothers and sisters of the badge. For Northampton and Halifax counties, these hallowed names represent our own, and we honor them,” said Lodge #47 Past President W.P. Terry, Jr.

NC Highway Patrol Master Trooper Tare Davis was the featured speaker for the event.

“We are gathered here today because someone else gave the ultimate sacrifice,” he emphasized.

Trooper Davis spoke about the oath that every law enforcement officer takes when they graduate from their basic training. The most important words from that oath, he said, are “I will.”

He urged people to hold onto the memories of those fallen officers.

“It could have been me. It could have been you,” he added.

“It’s much more than just a badge and a gun. It’s a duty we carry from our hearts that we shall protect and serve our communities,” Trooper Davis concluded.

Lodge #47 Treasurer Brian Simmons, who served as the Master of Ceremonies for the service, took a moment to acknowledge family members of local fallen officers who attended Friday morning’s event. He thanked them and their loved ones for their service and sacrifice.

The ceremony recognized 16 officers who served in Halifax and Northampton counties that died in the line of duty, spanning across a time period from 1910 through 2019. They were honored by having their badge placed on a small cross bearing their name.

Jackson Police Captain Chris Biggerstaff (left) presents Lodge #47 President John Young with one of the 16 badges placed on individual crosses of the fallen officers from Northampton and Halifax counties. Staff Photo by Holly Taylor

Those officers included Chief C.W. Dunn (Scotland Neck Police Department)

Deputy C.M. Hawkins (Halifax County Sheriff’s Office)

Deputy J.E. Perry (Halifax County Sheriff’s Office)

Chief A.P. Moore (Scotland Neck Police Department)

Trooper R.W. Arnold (NC Highway Patrol)

Deputy W.A. Pope (Halifax County Sheriff’s Office)

Officer C.L. Massey, Sr. (Roanoke Rapids Police Department)

Deputy L.I. Floyd (Halifax County Sheriff’s Office)

Deputy W.M. Goodwin (Halifax County Sheriff’s Office)

Lieutenant W.E. Vaughan (Roanoke Rapids Police Department)

Officer Lloyd Mayse (NC Wildlife Resource Commission)

Sergeant C.E. Daniel (Roanoke Rapids Police Department)

Trooper R.E. Worley (NC Highway Patrol)

Lieutenant T.D. Gillikin (Enfield Police Department)

Chief J.E. White, Jr. (Rich Square Police Department)

Deputy Makeem Brooks (Northampton County Sheriff’s Office).

Following the recognition, the Northampton County Sheriff’s Office Honor Guard laid the wreath and played Taps while the audience stood in a moment of quiet reflection.

Others who took part in the event included Lodge #47 President John Young, who provided the invocation, and Lodge #47 Chaplain Raymond Vaughan, who provided the benediction.