Mid-East Commission installs new officers

Published 4:55 pm Friday, May 3, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

WILLIAMSTON – The Mid-East Commission announces the installation of the following officers to its Executive Board: Charlotte Griffin, Chair (Bear Grass, Martin County); Gloria Bryant, First Vice Chair (Askewville, Bertie County); Dina Harrell, Second Vice Chair (Harrellsville, Hertford County); Kathy Parker, Secretary (Fountain, Pitt County) and Alice Langley, Treasurer (Beaufort County).

The Honorable Tonya Leggett, Clerk of Martin County Superior Court, swore in the five new officers.

The 57th annual meeting was held April 18 in Williamston at The Roanoke Country Club. Attending were individuals from the member governments of Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Martin, and Pitt counties.

The speaker was Rebecca Freeman, MPH, Human Services Planner/Evaluator III, Division of Aging, North Carolina Department of Health, and Human Services.

Other representatives were Mike Causey, Commissioner NC Department of Insurance, NC House Representative Gloristine Brown, NC House Representative Bill Ward, Susan Ward, Legislative Assistant for Representative Bill Ward, NC House Representative Shelly Willingham, and NC House Representative Keith Kidwell. Additional guests attending were past Mid-East Commission Executive Directors and Board Chairs.

The mission of the Mid-East Commission is to enhance the ability of local governments and successfully improve the quality of life for area citizens. The Commission, to facilitate positive local and regional change, provides leadership in technical assistance, planning, program management and development, and public-private partnerships.