Mid-East Commission announces new officers to Executive Board

Published 4:28 pm Tuesday, May 9, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

WASHINGTON – The Mid-East Commission announces the installation of the following officers to its Executive Board:

Ed Booth, Chair (Beaufort County);

Charlotte Griffin, First Vice Chair (Bear Grass, Martin County);

Bill Harrell, Second Vice Chair (Colerain, Bertie County);

Dina Harrell, Secretary (Harrellsville, Hertford County); and Kathy Parker, Treasurer (Fountain, Pitt County).

The Honorable Van Martin Paramore, Clerk of Beaufort County Superior Court, swore in three of the new officers. The remaining two officers will be sworn in at the May meeting.

The 56th annual meeting was held in Washington, Beaufort County, at The Washington Civic Center, on April 20. Attending were individuals from the member governments of Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Martin, and Pitt counties.

The speaker of the evening was Trey Goodson, Regional Economic Developer of the NCEast Alliance. Other representatives were NC Senator Bobby Hanig, Reginald Speight of the USDA, NC House Representative Bill Ward, Susan Ward, Legislative Assistant for Representative Bill Ward, Eddie Buffaloe, Jr., Secretary of NC Department of Public Safety, Rose Williams, Executive Director, NC League of Municipalities, Lorenzo Pedro, Legislative Liasion, NC Department of Transportation, and Marcia Kelly and Kevin Mitchell, Regional Managers for NC Department of Insurance. Additional guests attending were past Mid-East Commission Executive Directors and Board Chairs.

The mission of the Mid-East Commission is to enhance the ability of local governments and successfully improve the quality of life for area citizens. The Commission, to facilitate positive local and regional change, provides leadership in technical assistance, planning, program management and development, and public-private partnerships.