Money well invested

Published 5:02 pm Friday, September 16, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

AHOSKIE – Hertford County’s three elementary schools recently received local funds that will benefit young students in the district.

The donation, which came from the Hertford County branch of the NAACP, equaled $500 per school and was presented in the auditorium at Ahoskie Elementary on Sept. 8.

Viola V. Holland, president of the local NAACP branch, explained that the money is usually reserved to award scholarships for graduating seniors in the county. The organization, however, only awarded one scholarship this year. But instead of keeping the leftover funds, the members discussed other options for donating the money.

“We decided to recognize some of the schools in Hertford County,” Holland said.

Checks were presented to Principal Elenia Riddick of Ahoskie Elementary School, Principal Julie Shields of Bearfield Primary School, and Principal Deborah Brown of Riverview Elementary School.

Holland requested that the funds be used to order supplies to benefit all the students of each school.

“We’re trying to invest in our children,” added Rev. Dr. James Shearn, who serves as 1st Vice President of the Hertford County NAACP as well as a member of the county’s Board of Education.

Shearn said they decided to direct the extra funds towards the younger students in the district this year, since the scholarship usually benefits the older students.

“The Hertford County branch of the NAACP loves to give back to the community,” Holland said, and also invited everyone to visit their meetings anytime.

Representatives from the school district expressed their gratitude for the gift.

After the presentation, Hertford County Interim Superintendent Tammi Ward said to the group, “Thank you so very much for being advocates for our schools and our students. It’s greatly appreciated.”

Hertford County Board of Education Chair Sheila Porter echoed those sentiments.

“We are so thankful they thought about our students in Hertford County Schools, and they were there to assist in their needs,” Porter said. “It’s great to have the community support Hertford County Schools.”

Other members of the Hertford County NAACP who also attended the check presentation include Hazel Pierce (Executive Board Member), Patricia Shearn (Executive Board Member), Kathleen Wright (Financial Secretary), William Stephens (Treasurer), Mary Ruffin Harrell (2nd Vice President), and Berna Stephens (Community Relations Chair).

Those taking part in the check presentation made by the Hertford County Chapter of the NAACP to Ahoskie Elementary School, Riverview Elementary School and Bearfield Primary School were, from left, William Stephens, Patricia Shearn, Hazel Pierce, Kathleen Wright, Mary Ruffin Harrell, Shelia Porter, Viola V. Holland, Tammi Ward, Rev. James Shearn, Elenia Riddick, Berna Stephens, Deborah Brown, and Julie Shields. Staff Photo by Holly Taylor