Ahoskie teams headed to Area 1 tournament

Published 8:59 am Wednesday, July 13, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

AHOSKIE – The American Legion Junior Baseball Tournament opens this week in La Grange (Lenoir County) and Ahoskie Post 102 saw both of its teams qualify for the post-season event.

Ahoskie A goes in as the East’s number 2 seed and Ahoskie B will be the 4th seed from the East.

The winner of the Area 1 Tournament, which is scheduled to end on Saturday, July 16, qualifies for the American Legion State Playoffs, slated for next week in Thomasville.

Ahoskie A will meet Southern Wayne (West #3 seed) (Dudley, NC) in Wednesday’s (July 13) opening round. Ahoskie B tangles with Kinston (West #1) in its opener.

Rounding out the eight-team field are teams representing Wayne County (West #2), Edenton (East #3), Bear Grass (East #1), and Cary Cardinals (West #4).

All games will be played at North Lenoir High School (2400 Institute Road, LaGrange NC). Parking is available by the school bus parking lot

General admission is $7 per person. Military veterans and children ages 5-and-under are admitted free of charge.

Concessions will be offered for sale. No outside food is permitted.

All regular season rules are in effect for the tournament: run rules, speed up rule with runner for pitcher/catcher, and no pitcher can pitch three days in a row regardless of their pitch count.

The following players will represent Ahoskie Post 102 at the Area 1 Tournament:


Junior Team A

Jacob Askew

Colin Brock

Coley Drew

Preston Edwards

Noah Harris

Cameron Goodrow

Blayden Miller

Jacob Nichols

Thomas Pierce

Will Revelle

Conner Rhodes

Will Rucker

Collin Roberts

Owen Stallings

Zack Stewart

Dawson Vann

Coaches: Jonathan Hobbs, Danny Hale, Joe Nichols


Junior Team B

Brayden Baggett

Donovan Bowers

Parker Cale

Jacob Earley

Trent Harrell

Creek Johnson

Adian Miller

Conner Munford

Sean Rountree

Kellan Whitby

Ryland Whtiby

Chase White

Messiah White

Jesse Williams

Bill Vaughan

Messiah White

Coaches: Kevin Noon, Nelson Miller