Northeast Academy honors 2021-22 student-athletes

Published 4:35 pm Tuesday, June 14, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

LASKER – Northeast Academy paid honor to its student-athletes during a banquet held May 17.

Earning top honors in their respective sports were:

Carter Hatcher (Varsity Basketball: MVP and Leadership Award; Varsity Baseball: Best Defensive Player and the Thomas Pope Baseball Scholarship)

Lena Taylor (JV Softball: Most Improved & Coach’s Award; JV Tennis: Most Improved)

Hayes Hatcher (Varsity Basketball: Most Improved)

Maddy Bethel (Varsity & JV Softball: Best Offensive Player; JV Basketball: Most Improved)

Bridget Vaughan (Cheerleading: Most Improved; JV Shooting Team: Most Improved)

Gracie Baker (Varsity Shooting Team: MVP; Varsity Volleyball and Varsity Basketball: Leadership Award)

Camden White (JV Football: Most Improved)

Brayden Lassiter (JV Baseball: Most Improved)

Arland Davis (JV Tennis: MVP)

Sarah Sumner (Cross Country: Most Improved)

Addie Newsome (JV Volleyball: Most Improved)

Angel Barnes (Cheerleading: Spirit Award)

Sarah Farmer (Cheerleading: MVP)

Emalee Jones (Varsity Basketball: MVP; Varsity Tennis: Co-MVP & Co-Leadership Award)

Lizzie Smith (Varsity Tennis: Co-MVP & Co-Leadership Award)

Kenley Moore (Varsity Volleyball: MVP)

Judson Smith (Golf: Most Improved)

Chance Lassiter (Golf: MVP)

Preston Ordnung (JV Basketball: Most Improved)

Barrett Morris (Varsity Shooting Team: Most Improved)

Jake Parks (JV Football: Most Valuable Defensive Player; JV Basketball: MVP; JV Baseball: Best Offense)

Jaden Medford (JV Football: Most Valuable Offensive Player; JV Shooting Team: MVP)

Payton Brinkley (Varsity Basketball: Most Improved)

Payton Odom (JV Volleyball: MVP; JV Basketball: MVP; Varsity and JV Softball: Best Defense)

Jaden Hobbs (Varsity Volleyball: Most Improved; Varsity Softball: Most Improved & Coach’s Award)

Wyatt Reece (JV Baseball: Best Defense)

Heath Hobbs (Varsity Baseball: Best Offense)

Hunter Martin (Varsity Baseball: Most Improved)

Eli Thomas (Cross Country: MVP)

Harley Pierce (Varsity Tennis: Most Improved).

William Coggins and Gracie Baker were named as the Scholastic Athletes of the Year.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal