Primary Election set for May 17

Published 8:59 am Friday, May 13, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

For those who didn’t take advantage of the two-week early voting period, there’s one day left to cast a ballot.

North Carolina’s Primary Election is Tuesday, May 17. Polling places (precincts) will be open locally and across the state from 6:30 am – 7:30 pm.

Results will be posted on the News-Herald’s website ( as they become available after the polls close on Tuesday.

During a Primary Election, candidates are seeking to represent their political party in November’s General Election. The Primary will narrow the field of candidates who have filed for the following federal and state seats:

US Senate

US House of Representatives

NC Supreme Court

NC Court of Appeals

NC Senate

NC House of Representatives

District Attorney

Additionally, there are candidates seeking votes at the local level, to include County Commissioner, County Sheriff, and County Board of Education (non-partisan).

Registered voters residing inside Ahoskie’s corporate limits will also cast ballots for members of their Town Council. This non-partisan election was delayed from November of 2021 due to having to redraw the town’s voting districts following a shift in the population noted in the 2020 U.S. Census.

The following is a list of the polling places (precincts) that will be open on Tuesday:

Hertford County

Ahoskie 1: Old Ahoskie Elementary School

Ahoskie 2: Ahoskie Fire Station

Ahoskie 3: R.L. Vann School

Bryantville Park: Bryantville Community Building

Como: Como Fire Station

Cofield: Cofield Community Center

Harrellsville: Amanda S. Cherry Community Resource Center

Murfreesboro 1: Murfree Center

Murfreesboro 2: Parkers Grove Community Building

Millennium: Millennium Community Building

St. John: St. John Fire Department

Union: Roanoke-Chowan Community College

Winton: Cooperative Extension Building

Bertie County

Colerain 1: Colerain Municipal Building

Colerain 2: Powellsville Town Hall

Indian Woods: Indian Woods Missionary Baptist Church

Mitchells 1: Hexlena Community Building

Mitchells 2: Aulander Community Building

Merry Mill: Merry Hill / Midway Fire Department

Roxobel: Kelford Fire Department

Snakebite: Mt. Ararat Baptist Church

Windsor 1: Windsor Community Building

Windsor 2: Askewville Fire Department

Woodville: Lewiston Woodville Fire Department

Whites: Perrytown Fire Department

Northampton County

Conway/Milwaukee/Pendleton: Conway Ruritan/Women’s Club Building

Creeksville: Allen Chapel AME Church

Galatia: Zoar Missionary Baptist Church

Garysburg/Pleasant Hill: Garysburg Town Hall

Gaston: Cool Spring Community Center

Jackson/Rehoboth: Northampton County Cultural & Wellness Center

Lake Gaston: Lake Gaston Community Center

Lasker: Valley Pine Country Club

Newtown: Ashley’s Grove Community Building

Rich Square: Creecy Gymnasium

Seaboard: Seaboard Town Hall

Severn: Meherrin Cultural Arts Center

Woodland/Potecasi: Jerusalem Baptist Church

Gates County

Precinct 01: Gates County DSS Office, Gatesville

Precinct 02: Eure Volunteer Fire Department, Eure

Precinct 03: Gates Volunteer Fire Department, Gates

Precinct 04-North: Sunbury Sub Station 2, Corapeake

Precinct 04-South: Sunbury Fire Station, Sunbury

Precinct 05: Hobbsville Fire Department





About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal