Mid-East Commission installs new officers

Published 4:37 pm Tuesday, May 10, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

GREENVILLE – The Mid-East Commission announces the installation of the following officers to its Executive Board: Veronica Roberson, Chair (Winterville, Pitt County); Chad Keech, First Vice Chair (Pantego, Beaufort County); Charlotte Griffin, Second Vice Chair (Bear Grass, Martin County); Bill Harrell, Secretary (Colerain, Bertie County) and Dina Harrell, Treasurer (Harrellsville, Hertford County).

Newly selected officers for the Mid-East Commission are, from left, Charlotte Griffin (Second Vice-Chair), Veronica Roberson (Board Chair), and Dina Harrell (Treasurer). Not pictured are Chad Keech (First Vice-Chair), and Bill Harrell (Secretary). Contributed Photo

The Honorable Cheryl T. Jordan, Pitt County District Court Chief Magistrate, swore in three of the new officers; the remaining two officers will be sworn in at the May meeting.

The 55th annual meeting was held April 21 in Greenville at The Barn at Saint Andrews. Attending were individuals from the member governments of Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Martin, and Pitt counties.

The speakers of the evening were Assistant Secretary Kenny Flowers – Rural Economic Development Division, NC Department of Commerce, and Assistant Secretary Ched Mottershead – Division of Workforce Solutions, NC Department of Commerce.

Other representatives from the state were Trey Lewis – Representative from Senator Thom Tillis’ office, William Moore – Representative from Congressman Greg Murphy’s office, and Betty Jo Shepheard – Field Representative from Senator Richard Burr’s office.

Additional guests attending were NC House of Representatives Shelly Willingham, Kevin Mitchell – North Carolina Department of Insurance, Lee Padrick – Department of Commerce and past Mid-East Commission Executive Directors and Board Chairs.

The mission of the Mid-East Commission is to enhance the ability of local governments and successfully improve the quality of life for area citizens. The Commission, to facilitate positive local and regional change, provides leadership in technical assistance, planning, program management and development, and public-private partnerships.