Witt, Anderson headline All-CIAA football selections

Published 5:01 pm Friday, November 12, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

CHARLOTTE – Quarterback Bryce Witt and defensive lineman Isaac Anderson headline the 2021 Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Football All-Conference awards for Chowan University released by the CIAA on Wednesday afternoon.

All-Conference team members were selected by league head coaches and athletic communicators.

For the first time since 2013, and third time in program history, Witt was selected as CIAA Offensive Player of the Year joining CJ Wester (2009) and Robert Holland (2013). Anderson collected the program’s first-ever CIAA Defensive Rookie of the Year award.

The Hawks collected five First Team selections, the most in program history with Witt, Imeek Watkins (honored twice as a wide receiver and kick returner), David Keck (offensive line), and Rafiq Abdul-Wahid (defensive line) earning the First Team nod.

Chowan also had four players named to the Second Team: Laurence King (WR), Isaac Anderson (DL), Gilberto Ortiz (DL), and Jude McAtamney (PK).

Anderson and J’Vin Farmer were named to the Defensive All-Rookie team.

Witt earned All-CIAA First Team honors after picking up Second Team honors in 2018 and 2019. He continued to adjust record books in program history after throwing for a single-season record 31 touchdowns and a single-season record 2,864 passing yards while completing 66.3% of his throws, also a single-season record. All three marks led the CIAA to go with 11 rushing touchdowns.

Anderson recorded 37 tackles, 20.0 TFLs, 9.0 sacks, two interceptions, three forced fumbles, and a blocked kick to finish off his rookie season for the Hawks.

Watkins, who was Witt’s favorite target this season, led the CIAA in receptions with 68. He had 10 receiving touchdowns and 886 receiving yards. Watkins also added 14 kick-off returns for 455 yards and tied the NCAA record with a 100-yard return for touchdown. Watkins also had a punt return for a touchdown this season.

Keck helped the Hawks lead the CIAA in points per game (38.5), and total offense (432.2). He joins former offensive lineman Donald Boone, Michael Lugo, Jobari Coleman-Wilson, and Melvin Rogers as First Team selections for the Hawks.

For the first time since 2012, a Chowan defensive linemen was named CIAA First Team as Abdul-Wahid picked up the honors joining TJ Batchelor. Abdul-Wahid posted 38 tackles, 12.0 TFLs, 8.5 sacks, 15 quarterback hurries, and three blocked kicks on the season.

King, Witt’s second favorite receiver, posted a Second Team selection after hauling in 51 receptions for 658 yards and eight touchdowns.

Earning Second Team honors in his first season with the Hawks, McAtamney was a perfect 47-of-47 on PATs this season while going 6-for-10 on his field goal attempts including a school-record 47 yarder. McAtamney also averaged 61.4 yards on kick-offs with 19 touchbacks.

Ortiz was named CIAA Second Team after leading the Hawks with 70 tackles, 19.5 TFLs, and 8.0 sacks.

Farmer joined Anderson on the Defensive All-Rookie squad after posting 22 tackles, two interceptions, and a fumble recovery.