Municipal election is Nov. 2

Published 5:27 pm Friday, October 29, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The campaigning is nearly over as registered voters residing within all but one Roanoke-Chowan area town will cast their ballots on Tuesday, Nov. 2 to select their municipal leaders.

On that day, polls in municipalities conducting elections are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Voters in line at 7:30 p.m. will be able to cast a ballot.

There are changes to traditional polling places in three local towns.

In Winton, voters will use the Town Hall instead of the Hertford County Cooperative Extension Center to cast their ballots. Those voters are asked to drive to the rear of the Town Hall and enter in thru the side door.

The polling place for town of Woodland voters has been moved to Jerusalem Baptist Church, located at 205 Myrtle Street.

In Roxobel, voters will use the Town Hall to cast their ballots.

The following individuals have filed for political office in their respective towns:

Askewville Mayor: Gloria Bryant

Askewville Town Commissioners: Carla Pesce, Kay Brantley, and Michael Baker.

Aulander Town Commissioners: Jerome Dail Jr., Renee Draper, Jamie Tinkham and Jason Tinkham.

Cofield Mayor: June S. Wynn

Cofield Town Council: Dacia Jenkins, Stephen Lassiter, Hermea Pugh Jr., Rhonda L. Taylor, and Pamela Jones Winbourne.

Colerain Town Commissioners: Herbert Copeland, Will Fairless, and Donald H. Sumner Jr.

Como Mayor: Irvin L. Stephens Sr.

Como Town Council: Lorie Higbee, Susan W. Kennington, Ann E. Spruill, and Sherrie H. Stephens.

Conway Mayor: Willie Thomas Barrett

Conway Town Commissioners: Lokie W. Majette and Gail C. Wade.

Garysburg Mayor: Roy L. Bell

Garysburg Town Commissioners: Lola S. Ausby, Semiko N. Jacobs, James Mayo, and Iris F. Williams.

Gaston Mayor: Alice Patrick Delbridge, Deborah Lee James, and Terrance L. Smith.

Gaston Town Commissioners: Tony Hux, Franklin Manning, Edward Porter, Jr., and Patricia Dale Penn-Jacobs.

Harrellsville Mayor: Henry Nuss

Harrellsville Town Council: Deborah Baker, Wiley B. Gillam III, Thomas Grimes, Lisa Hunnicutt, Emma Perry, and Ronnie Revell Sr.

Jackson Town Commissioners: Karin J. Clements, Jim Gossip, and Monty Hux.

Kelford Mayor: Bailey Parker, Randy D. Robtoy, and Gary Randolph Scott Jr.

Kelford Town Commissioners: Harvey Wayne Bland, Ken (KC) Cain, John (Timmy) Eaton, Jim T. Harrell, and Michael A. Johnson Sr.

Lasker Mayor: Dick Collier

Lasker Town Commissioners: Charles M. Daughtry, Stevie Flythe, and Joan Lassiter.

Lewiston Woodville Mayor: Chris B. Cordon

Lewiston Woodville Town Council (Lewiston District): DiAnne Bazemore

Lewiston Woodville Town Council (Woodville District): Linda Gilliam and Lee Owens.

Murfreesboro Mayor: Hal Thomas

Murfreesboro Town Council: David Brown, Craig L. Dennis, Tim Flanagan, James (B.J.) Futrell Jr., Peter B. Griffith, Jay Revelle, Berna L. Stephens, and Sara Whitley Wallace.

Powellsville Mayor: James Peele

Powellsville Town Commissioners: Hattie Askew, Carlyle Hoggard, and Gerald Waters.

Rich Square Mayor: Reginald White

Rich Square Town Commissioners: Linwood C. Bryant, Peggy Cary, Charles Eason, Larry Godwin, Raymond Joyner, and Marcia P. Majett.

Roxobel Mayor: Gary Johnson

Roxobel Town Commissioners: David Lee Baisey, Johnna Browne Lewis, Robert Phelps, Joseph Pittman, and Dillon Pruden.

Seaboard Mayor: Geraldine Jerman Langford

Seaboard Town Commissioners: LaQuitia Barnes-Curry, Linwood Fenton Clark, George M. Jerman, Sr., and Alfred Kwasikpui.

Severn Mayor: George H. McGee

Severn Town Commissioners: Tony Herman, Troy Holloman, Marshall Lassiter, Eloise P. Martin, Paige Pinnix, and Parker Watson.

Windsor Mayor: Lewis Hoggard

Windsor Town Commissioners: David L. Bunch, L.C. Hoggard III, and Randy Whitaker.

Winton Mayor: Evans Heath

Winton Town Council: Blake Blythe, Stephen Piland, and Emily (Emy) Winstead. The remaining two seats will be determined by write-in votes, according to the Hertford County Board of Elections.

Woodland Town Commissioners: Brian K. Christison and David Cooper.

Residents who live in the Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District will have the opportunity to vote for three open seats on the district’s Board of Directors. Filing for those seats were Jon Baker, Gregory L. Browning, James E. Kerr, II, Colby Lyles, and Eugene St. Clair.

At all polling places, voters in need of assistance must request that aid. Curbside voting is available for voters who are unable to enter the voting place without assistance due to age or disability. Once inside the polling place, voters who experience difficulties should request help from an election worker.

The State Board asks that all voters respect the right of others to participate in the election. Intimidating any voter is a crime. Voters who feel harassed or intimidated should notify an election official immediately.

If you present to vote and your name is not on the voter list, you may request a provisional ballot.

NOTE: Filing for one seat each in Ahoskie’s Ward A and Ward B along with one at-large seat is delayed until later this year due to legislation enacted June 28 by the North Carolina General Assembly. That was necessitated by the fact that because 2021 is a year following the federal census, some municipalities who elect officials by districts or wards must redistrict to correct population imbalances. Town of Ahoskie officials are currently in the process of redrawing the boundaries between Ward A and Ward B to correct a population imbalance.


About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal