Race develops for Woodville District seat

Published 5:11 pm Tuesday, August 17, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

WINDSOR – Filing has ended for the 2021 municipal election and a race has developed for the Woodville District seat on the Lewiston Woodville Town Council.

Linda Gilliam filed for that seat on Aug. 11, joining Lee Owens who filed on July 26.

June Jernigan, the incumbent representing the Woodville District, did not file for reelection.

However, incumbent DiAnne Bazemore will seek another term on the Council as the representative of the Lewiston District. She filed on Aug. 13, the final day that candidates had to declare their intentions to seek office.

No other candidate filed for the Lewiston District seat.

Lewiston-Woodville will have a new mayor sworn in later this year. Current Mayor James Earl Pugh filed July 26 for another term in office, but withdrew his name on Aug. 6 after notifying the Bertie County Board of Elections of his intentions not to seek reelection.

Bertie Elections Director Shelia Holloman said that Pugh did not give a reason of why he decided to withdraw.

On Aug. 9, Chris B. Cordon filed for Lewiston-Woodville Mayor.

Filing ended July 16 for municipal seats in the Bertie County towns of Askewville, Aulander, Colerain, Kelford, Powellsville, Roxobel, and Windsor.

Election Day is Nov. 2.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal