Filing opens in for Lewiston Woodville Town Council seats

Published 5:47 pm Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

WINDSOR – Filing for local government offices in the town of Lewiston Woodville opened Monday.

One day later, two individuals had filed for two of the three seats available during the 2021 election cycle for municipalities.

According to the Bertie County Board of Elections, incumbent Lewiston Woodville Mayor James Earl Pugh filed for reelection. Also filing on Tuesday was Lee Owens who is seeking the Woodville District seat on the Town Council. That seat is currently held by Council member June Jernigan.

As of 12 noon on Tuesday, no one had yet to file for the Council’s Lewiston District seat, which is currently held by Dianne Bazemore.

Filing for positions on the Lewiston Woodville Town Council continues until 12 noon on Aug. 13. The filing fee is $5.

Those wishing to file must be registered voters who are at least 21 years old by Election Day (Nov. 2) and reside in Lewiston Woodville. If they are not already registered to vote, they can register at the same time they file their notice of candidacy. For an office that is elected by district or ward, the candidate must reside within the district or ward.

Candidates need to register at the Bertie County Board of Elections, located at 210 West Watson Street, Windsor. For more information, call 252-794-5306.

Filing ended July 16 for municipal seats in the Bertie County towns of Askewville, Aulander, Colerain, Kelford, Powellsville, Roxobel, and Windsor.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal