New members appointed to County Boards of Elections

Published 5:19 pm Tuesday, July 6, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

RALEIGH – The State Board of Elections on Tuesday appointed four members to all 100 county boards of elections – the latest class of elections officials working to administer and safeguard elections.

“We are happy to welcome new members to North Carolina’s elections team,” said Karen Brinson Bell, executive director of the State Board. “Together, we will continue to ensure that our elections are accessible, safe, and secure, and that every eligible vote counts.”

Every two years, state statute requires the State Board to appoint four members, two from each leading party, to the county boards of elections. Gov. Roy Cooper will appoint the fifth member, who will serve as chair.

Those appointed to new terms in the Roanoke-Chowan area are as follows:

Bertie County: Michael Fields and Timothy Davis (Republicans); James Lee and Anthony Ward (Democrats).

Gates County: Emily Cross and James Sears (Democrats); Leslie Hill and Karen Sims (Republicans).

Hertford County: Gregory Ray Phillips and Keyuantie Lyons (Republicans); Jeri Pierce and Tonya Freeman (Democrats).

Northampton County: Eugene Taylor and Sandra Goffington-Dickens (Democrats); Vickie Evans and Myron Grueneich (Republicans).

Board members serve two-year terms, which expire in July 2023.

The state chairs of the Democratic and Republican parties recommended three registered voters in each county for appointment. The State Board appointed two of those individuals from each party. Each appointment is contingent on the nominee having properly completed an application and agreeing not to engage in prohibited political speech while serving on the county board.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal