Northampton municipalities to receive COVID funds

Published 6:01 pm Tuesday, August 11, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

JACKSON – Counties across North Carolina have received COVID relief funds to help with costs incurred due to the ongoing pandemic, and a part of that pot of money will also be distributed to municipalities within each county. Northampton County officials announced allocation totals at the Board of Commissioners meeting here on July 20.

Northampton County Manager Charles Jackson explained the funding formula for the town allocations was based on population totals, with larger towns receiving a larger portion of the money.

The funding breakdown by town is as follows:

Gaston – $42,831.56

Garysburg – $39,299.44

Rich Square – $35,618.61

Conway – $31,082.62

Woodland – $30,078.76

Seaboard – $23,497.87

Jackson – $19,073.43

Severn – $10,261.73

Lasker – $4,535.98

Altogether the municipality money totals $236,280 of the full $945,119.83 the county has received from the Coronavirus Relief Fund.

Jackson said town leaders will have to submit their plans to spend those funds by Sept. 1. Municipalities can use the funds in a manner consistent with the terms set forth by the North Carolina Pandemic Recovery Office and to cover necessary expenditures incurred from the pandemic that were not accounted for in their budgets.

The commissioners approved the sub-grant agreement form after a closed session during the same meeting. Each municipality will have to fill out the agreement in order to receive the money.