Dare County prohibits visitors

Published 12:57 pm Tuesday, March 17, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In response to updated guidelines from the CDC to avoid discretionary travel and follow the President’s Coronavirus Guidelines for America, the Dare County Control Group has made the decision to restrict visitor access to Dare County effective at 2 p.m. on Tuesday, March 17.

While there are currently no individuals who have tested positive for COVID-19 in Dare County, officials weighed the potential benefits for community health along with the tremendous impacts these restrictions have on their community. These restrictions may be inconvenient, disappointing and have financial impacts, however, they were made in the interest of public safety to limit the spread of COVID-19.

Checkpoints will be established at entry points to Dare County and no visitors will be allowed access. Permanent residents, non-resident property owners and non-resident employees of Dare County businesses may review entry guidelines at www.darenc.com/entry. Reentry permits from previous years will not be accepted. Staff is working to activate the online permitting system by 1 p.m. Tuesday.

To avoid contact with personnel, please display your permit on your dashboard so it is clearly visible for checkpoint personnel.

Visitors will not be allowed to travel through Dare County to access Currituck County (Corolla), Hyde County (Ocracoke Island), or Tyrrell County. People who reside, own property or work in Corolla or Ocracoke will be allowed entry.

Personnel working at the Emergency Operations Center are available to answer COVID-19 related questions using a dedicated phone line. Please call 252-475-5008. Personnel anticipates a high volume of calls. If you reach a voicemail, please leave a message and your call will be returned as soon as possible.

NEW INFO (added 3:20 pm on Tuesday, March 17): Due to high demand for the online entry permitting system, some users have experienced difficulties applying for entry permits. Dare County officials apologize for the inconvenience. In lieu of an entry permit, permanent residents will be allowed entry with a valid NC driver’s license or government-issued identification card with a local address. Non-resident property owners will be allowed entry with a current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government-issued id or an entry permit with matching current government-issued identification. Non-resident employees may show documentation providing proof of employment such as pay stubs, employee identification badges, etc.