HC Election results certified

Published 5:31 pm Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

AHOSKIE – Results from the municipal elections held in five towns on Nov. 5 have been certified by the Hertford County Board of Elections, to include tabulations of write-in votes to determine the winners of a trio of open seats on the Cofield Town Council.

Only two individuals filed for seats on the Cofield Town Council – Charleen Harrell (60 votes) and Rhonda L. Taylor (54). The winners of the other three seats were determined by the 162 votes cast for write-in candidates. Those winners were Hermea Pugh Jr. (55 votes), Stephen Lassiter (53), and Dacia Jenkins (51).

Cofield Mayor June S. Wynn, who received 59 votes, was unchallenged in this election cycle.

As earlier reported, the Town of Murfreesboro will see two new faces on their Town Council, and the official results now verify that fact. Two first-time candidates – Jay Revelle and David Brown – topped the balloting. Revelle was the leading vote-getter, named on 291 ballots. Brown received 273 votes.

All five seats on the Murfreesboro Council were open in this election cycle. Three of those were won by incumbents: Berna L. Stephens (270 votes), Sarah Whitley Wallace (203), and Craig L. Dennis (197).

Incumbent Councilman Billy Theodorakis (131 votes) failed in his re-election bid.

There were 21 write-in votes for Murfreesboro Town Council with Wayne Brown named on seven of those ballots.

Hal Thomas was unchallenged for another term as Murfreesboro Mayor. He received 297 votes.

The now official tally certifies that Charles Reynolds and Matt Bradley, two incumbents on the Ahoskie Town Council, will return to office.

In the Ward B race, Reynolds received 199 votes while his challenger, David D. Robertson, was named on 141 ballots. There were 25 write-in votes among various individuals.

Bradley was the lone candidate to file for Ahoskie’s Ward A seat in this election cycle. He officially received 278 votes. There were 102 write-in votes, of which Darren Smallwood received 84.

Weyling J. White will become Ahoskie’s new mayor, replacing Jimmy Rowe who chose not to seek reelection. White ran unopposed and received 688 votes. He will become the town’s first black mayor upon being sworn in next month.

Mayor Henry Nuss and all five Council members in Harrellsville – Deborah A. Baker, Thomas Grimes, Lisa A. Hunnicutt, Emma Gail Perry, and Ronnie Revell – were unchallenged in the election.

Evans Heath is the official winner for Mayor of Winton. He received 73 votes. There were also 73 write-in votes for that position, led by Danny Greene who was named on 59 ballots.

There was a crowded field of candidates for the five seats on the Winton Town Council. The official results show James (Bud) Manley (94 votes), Tiffany Michelle Lewis (85), Emy Winstead (81), Aislinn Branch (78), and William J. Boone (77) earning those elected positions. Blake Blythe (72) and James Donavon Cannette (35) rounded out the field.

Turnout for this municipal election in Hertford County was 24.3 percent, with 1,404 of the 5,763 eligible voters casting ballots.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal