Incumbent Councilmen sweep Ahoskie election

Published 8:25 pm Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

With all precincts reporting, Charles Reynolds and Matt Bradley, two incumbents on the Ahoskie Town Council, have won, according to the unofficial results of today’s (Tuesday) municipal election.

Meanwhile, Weyling J. White will become Ahoskie’s new mayor.

In the Ward B race, Reynolds received an even 200 votes while his challenger, David D. Robertson, was named on 142 ballots. There were 25 write-in votes.

Bradley was the lone candidate to file for Ahoskie’s Ward A seat in this election cycle. He received 278 votes. There were 101 write-in votes.

White was unopposed for Ahoskie Mayor. He received 689 votes and will become the town’s first black mayor upon being sworn in next month.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal