Sorority conducts Essay Writing Contest

Published 10:37 am Wednesday, March 13, 2019

AHOSKIE – The Ahoskie Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. sponsored an Essay Writing Contest for the youth in the National Youth Initiative Programs. The event was held Feb. 23 at the Deltas of the Roanoke Chowan Area, Inc. (Ahoskie).

Shown here are the participants who participated in an Essay Writing Contest sponsored by the Ahoskie Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority. Contributed Photo

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a non-profit and non-partisan organization that works diligently with Public Service Projects in the community. The Ahoskie Alumnae Chapter works with Youth Initiative Programs that invest in the growth and development of students in our local schools and community.

The Essay Writing Contest involved young ladies who wrote an essay on the topic, “The Importance of Voting.”   The programs representation for this special activity were: Dr. Betty Shabazz Delta Academy that works with young women ages 11 to 14 and focuses on social and emotional development, physiological transitioning and exposure to global ideas and learning opportunities for the young ladies.

Three students attending Hertford County Schools participated: Alexis “Lisa” Vann (1st Place Winner), Marie Short (2nd Place Winner), and Myania Mebane (3rd Place Winner) in the Delta Academy category.

Dr. Jeanne L. Noble GEMS Institute (better known as Delta GEMS) works with young women ages 14 to 18 to enhance their abilities in order to achieve academic excellence. The program focuses on assisting young women in proper goal setting, developing compassionate, caring community-minded young women, and emphasizing decision-making and planning for the high school years and beyond.

Four students attending Bertie and Hertford County Schools participated: Kennedi Heckstall (1st Place Winner), Ny’Asia Smallwood (2nd Place Winner), Genesis Langley (3rd Place Winner) and D’Niyah Hamilton (4th Place Winner) in the Delta GEMS category.

Judges for the contest were Carl Bond (Ahoskie Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.), Alexis C. Pugh (Attorney), and Brenda Robinson-Cannie (Paralegal).

Special recognition is given to Democracy NC for awarding the Ahoskie Alumnae Chapter grant funding through the Voters Engagement Plan to sponsor the Essay Writing Contest.

Closing remarks and words of appreciation were given by Betty A. Pugh, Social Action Acting Chair, and Linda McNair-Moore, Chapter President.