Legion Post 102 hosts baseball awards ceremony

Published 12:01 pm Monday, August 6, 2018

AHOSKIE – Post 102 American Legion baseball hosted a banquet for the players, parents, legionnaires, and helpers of the team for summer 2018 on July 22 at the Post HQ here on McGlohon Street.

Senior Legion team award winners were: Justin Winslow (Offense Award), Ricky Neathery (Defense Award), Gage Riddick (Pitching Award), and Trent Munford (Coaches Award). Head coach Chris Towell presented Slade Cowan with the senior team Jim ‘Catfish’ Hunter Award, named for the late Hall of Fame pitcher and Perquimans native who played Legion ball for Post 102 back in the 1960’s.

The Post 102 Junior Legion team went into the 2018 season with only three returning starters and had to re-work much of their pitching staff.

Slade Cowan (left) receives the Jim ‘Catfish’ Hunter MVP award from senior Legion coach Chris Towell. The plaque is named in honor of the late A’s & Yankees Hall-of-Fame pitcher who played for Post 102 in the 1960’s.

“What made this team good was that we didn’t depend on one single player, we didn’t have that one guy who had to do everything,” said Coach David Ellis.

Junior team award winners were: Zack Lassiter and Alden Lassiter (Dedication Award), Avery Harris (Rookie of the Year), Parker Bradley (Best Turnaround), Steven Futrell (Leadership Award), Derious Boone (Coaches Award), Hunter Mitchell and Logan Early (Pitching Award), Travis Williams (Defense), Trent Hobbs (Offense), and Conner Munford (Batboy). The junior team’s ‘Catfish’ Hunter Award winner and team MVP was given to Tyrek Beverly.

A special appreciation award was presented to Senior Sports Writer Billy Harrell of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald for his outstanding coverage of Legion baseball throughout the entire season.

Ahoskie Post 102 began sponsoring American Legion baseball in the 1950’s up until 1973; picking back up in 1996. The junior team was started in 2002 and the 2018 team is the first team – senior or junior – to ever post 20 wins, finishing the season with a record of 20-6.