Chowan University celebrates retiree and successor

Published 11:24 am Thursday, December 14, 2017

By Brooke C Reich
University Relations

MURFREESBORO – Chowan University is ending another successful year with a celebration of service rendered and a new beginning to anticipate.

Portia Davis

After almost a quarter century of fine, dedicated, and loyal service, Portia Davis, Administrative Assistant to the President, will retire at the end of this month. Her 24 years with Chowan University have positioned her on the front-lines of the battle for the recovery and eventual renaissance of the institution.

Davis began in the Development Office as Secretary to the Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations, Clayton Lewis, in May 1994. She went on to serve as Administrative Assistant for Development, working alongside the likes of Laurie B. Varley, Vint Tilson, and John M. Tayloe, before a brief attempt at retirement in 2004. Chowan, however, could not allow her to rest for long. She returned in 2005 in a part-time capacity, then agreed to a full-time return as Administrative Assistant to President M. Christopher White in 2006.

“Portia has served honorably and faithfully for many years,” said President White. “Her devotion to Chowan, its students, and its mission is unparalleled and she will be missed.”

With her retirement, Chowan has announced the appointment of Elizabeth Riddick Davis as the new Administrative Assistant to the President. An Ahoskie native, Riddick Davis joined the Development Office as Development Associate in 2012 and was promoted to Director of the Annual Fund less than a year later. Riddick Davis is a graduate of Ridgecroft School and Meredith College and holds a Master of Business Administration degree from Averett University.

Elizabeth R. Davis

“Elizabeth brings a great deal to the role that no one else can,” said President White. “She knows Chowan University, and she knows this community. I’m proud of her accomplishments and proud to promote her to this new position in the Office of the President.”