NCC All-Conference team announced

Published 11:10 am Thursday, November 30, 2017

KILL DEVIL HILLS – The Northeastern Coastal Conference has announced its 2017 All-Conference football team and the two schools for the Roanoke-Chowan area – Hertford County and Bertie – are well-represented. Six players (five Bears and one Falcon) made the first team.

The Northeastern Coastal Conference has released its 2017 All-Conference team and among the area players named to the squad were Bertie High receiver Jamari White (#10) and Hertford County linebacker Michael Savage (#36). | Photos by Angie Todd & William Anthony Photography

“We made the playoffs for the second consecutive year thanks to the efforts of these kids,” said Bertie coach Grantley Mizelle. “That’s the first time that’s happened for us since 2007 and 2008. We owe a lot to the people who supported Bertie High athletics.”

“Congratulations to the kids that made it,” said Hertford County coach Terrance Saxby. “It represents their dedication and hard work to the program. I look forward to the underclassmen kids coming back next season. I’m excited about the future because we still have unfinished business.”

Bertie’s All-Conference first-teamer was junior wide receiver Jamari White. The Windsor speedster finished second in the league in receiving with 636 yards and four touchdowns, averaging almost 30 yards per catch.

Hertford County All-Conference first-team selections were led by the league’s leading rusher, senior Kyeem Perry. He finished with 2,045 rushing yards and 22 touchdowns – tied for the league lead. He also had 441 receiving yards, averaging 17 yards per catch and he scored three more touchdowns through the air.

Zion Riddick was another first-team selection at receiver. He finished his high school career as the league’s leading receiver with 1,185 yards and 14 touchdowns – ten more scoring grabs than his closest competitor.

The Bears’ senior Braxton Williams was first-team offensive lineman and teammate Cortay Stephens was first-team as a defensive lineman. Rounding out the HCHS selectees was linebacker Michael Savage.

Named to the second team All-Conference were two offensive linemen from each school. A couple of seniors: Jarrett Jones and Keandre Spivey were named from Hertford County High; while Bertie’s representatives were senior Brandon Davis and junior Keyuntra Lee. Lee also had the distinction of making second-team on defense as well. The final offensive second-teamer from the area was Bertie running back LaCurtis Askew

Joining Lee on the second team defense – also from Bertie – were seniors linebacker Nate Cheeseboro and defensive back Marcus Philyaw. Hertford County High’s second-team defense representatives were lineman Tristan Williams and linebacker Michale Cooper, a sophomore and junior, respectively.

In other honors, Northeastern coach Antonio Moore – who guided his Eagles to the third round of the 2A playoffs and a 13-1 record, including a 13-game winning streak – was named Coach of the Year. Offensive Player of the Year was a tie between Northeastern quarterback Dallas Hall and Hertford County running back Kyeem Perry.   Rounding it out was Northeastern lineman Traveon Freshwater, the Defensive Player of the Year.