NAACP thanks banquet sponsors

Published 10:05 am Monday, October 2, 2017

To the Editor:

We, the members of the Hertford County Branch NAACP #5403, appreciatively and sincerely thank everyone who supported, attended, sponsored, contributed, or participated in our annual Freedom Fund Banquet held on Saturday, September 9, 2017, at the Nebo Baptist Church Family Life Center, Murfreesboro, NC.

We extend a special thank you to the Reverend Dr. Linwood Boone of Gates County for serving as our banquet speaker. Also, we extend special thanks to Ms. Ayanna Smith and Mr. Tune for providing the music for the evening.

We wish to acknowledge our loyal sponsors, supporters and contributors, which are:

Congressman G. K. Butterfield

Representative Howard Hunter, III

Mayor Van Worrell of Newsoms, VA

Central Ford of Ahoskie, NC

Choanoke Area Development Association

Chowan University

Roanoke Chowan Community College

Southern Bank of Ahoskie, NC

Roanoke Electric Cooperative

Reliable Health Care

Roanoke Chowan Community Health Care (Kim Schwartz)

Perdue Farms, Inc.

NUCOR Steel Corp.

The Improved Benevolent Protective Order of the Elks of the World

Dr. William Wright, Superintendent of Hertford County Public Schools

Mr. James Eure, Manager of the State Employees Credit Union of Ahoskie

Dr. Terry Hall

The Twelve Sportsman’s Club

The Newport News Shipyard Commuter’s Club

Ahoskie Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

  1. S. Brown Regional Cultural Arts Center and Museum

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity

St. John Second Baptist Church (Rev. Roy Sharpe)

First Baptist Church of Murfreesboro (Rev. Robert Richardson)

Jordan Grove Missionary Baptist Church (Rev. Dr. James W. Shearn)

New Bethany Missionary Baptist Church (Rev. Dr. William C. Clark)

Second Baptist Union Church (Rev. Bryan Pierce)

Evening Light COGICJ, Inc. (Bishop Luther Cherry)

Parkers Grove Missionary Baptist Church (Rev. Dr. Fernando Temple)

Mt. Moriah Missionary Baptist Church (Rev. Dr. Henry Jordan)

Mt. Pleasant Missionary Baptist Church (Rev. Dr. Roosevelt Askew)

New Ahoskie Baptist Church (Pastor C. David Stackhouse)

Nebo Missionary Baptist Church (Rev. James Brown)

Zion Grove Missionary Baptist Church (Rev. James Mercer)

Northampton County Branch NAACP

Martin County Branch NAACP

Gates County Branch NAACP

Bertie County Branch NAACP

Chowan County Branch NAACP

Verse One Publications and Graphics

Betty Drake Caterer


Scholarship Recipients for 2017 are Johnnie Ruffin, Dominique Simmons, and Brionna Hall.

Again, the Hertford County Branch NAACP #5403 greatly appreciates everyone for your loyal support, financial contributions, sponsorships and many donations. “FORWARD TOGETHER, Not One Step Back.”

Reverend Dr. James W. Shearn

Branch President

Hertford County Branch NAACP