Candidates crowd Ahoskie & Mboro contests

Published 12:21 pm Tuesday, July 25, 2017

WINTON – Political races have developed in both Ahoskie and Murfreesboro upon the conclusion of the municipal election filing period on Friday of last week.

In Ahoskie, four individuals are seeking to become the At-Large member on the Town Council to replace the retiring Linda Blackburn. Filing for her seat were Jamie Burns, Stewart Fields, Donald Kirkland, and David D. Robertson.

Meanwhile, incumbent Ahoskie Ward B Councilman C. David Stackhouse will be challenged in November’s election as Katty Pena White filed for the same seat on the final day.

Another incumbent on the Ahoskie Council, Charles W. Freeman who represents Ward A, is unchallenged during his quest to serve a second, four-year term.

Over in Murfreesboro, seven candidates – including four incumbents – are vying for the five seats on Town Council. The incumbents seeking reelection are Craig Dennis, Bill Theodorakis and Sarah Whitley Wallace. The fourth incumbent is Rick Heckler. He was appointed to fill an unexpired term on the Council and has filed to continue serving.

A trio of challengers are also seeking seats on the Murfreesboro Council – Kim Castle, Mitchell R. Radford and Berna L. Stephens.

Meanwhile, veteran Murfreesboro Mayor John Hinton opted not to seek another term. That opening prompted Hal Thomas, a current member of the Town Council, to seek that seat. Thomas is unopposed in that effort.

In the county seat of Winton, three Town Council incumbents – Blake Blythe, James (Bud) Manley and Emily (Emy) Winstead – all filed for reelection. Political newcomer Brian Futrell also filed for a seat on the Winton Council.

Winton’s current Mayor, Tiffany Michelle Lewis, looks to change seats as she filed for Town Council. No candidate filed for Winton Mayor.

Barring any major effort by write-in candidates in November, it appears that the Como Town Council will remain unchanged. The town’s incumbent Mayor, Irvin L. Stephens Sr., filed for reelection, as did each of the four current Council members – Lorie Higbee, Susan W. Kennington, Stephen F. Pearce, and Ann E. Spruill.

Incumbents also dominated the filing in Harrellsville as Mayor Mary L. Thompson along with current Council members Deborah Annette Baker, Lisa Ann Hunnicutt, and Ronnie Revell are seeking reelection. Two other seats on the Harrellsville Town Council remain open as no one else filed.

Vacancies will also exist on the Cofield Town Council as only one (Anthony V. Archer) of the five incumbents filed for another term on that governing board. Another incumbent Council member, June S. Wynn, filed for Cofield Mayor. She is unchallenged in that bid.

The 2017 municipal election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 7.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal