R-C Community College hosts Scholarship Recognition Luncheon

Published 10:55 am Monday, May 22, 2017

AHOSKIE – Thankfulness and gratitude were the emotions of the day at the Roanoke-Chowan Community College (R-CCC) Scholarship Recognition Luncheon held April 20 on campus.

“I would like to say thank you to the donors who have invested their time and money in an effort to further the education of students at Roanoke-Chowan Community College,” said Board Trustee Chairman Andre Lassiter.

R-CCC President Jimmy T. Tate welcomed and recognized guests. Tarsha Dudley, executive director for the R-CCC Foundation, presided over the ceremony and announced scholarship donors and recipients. Several donors attended the luncheon.

Earline Davis presented the DuPont L. Davis Scholarship to Addie Holloman who is a student in the business administration program. Davis spoke about how Mr. Davis, a former Hertford County commissioner and community leader, loved education. She stated, “DuPont loved education and wanted to make sure that everyone had an opportunity to go to school.”

Former R-CCC employee and now Hertford County Commissioner John Horton presented the Hertford County Commissioners’ Scholarship to Holloman and took the opportunity to share his reflections on the College. 

Horton shared, “I came to this institution right out of college when it was just five years old and I was teaching in a trailer at that time. I saw this institution grow. I worked here 30 years and then retired, but my heart could never be removed from here. I knew from day one that there is no greater institution than this community college.”

Holloman gave reflections and expressed her profuse gratitude for being selected for the scholarship. Additionally, Holloman received the Freeman Family Scholarship.

Dell Aycock, State Employee Credit Union (SECU) vice president/city executive, along with SECU Board Chair Brunette Parker presented the SECU Foundation Two-Year Program Scholarship to Tracey Ridley, medical office administration program student. Ridley gave reflections and thanked the SECU donors for choosing her as one of the recipients.  Aycock and Parker also presented the SECU Foundation Continuing Education Program Scholarships.

Wells Fargo representative Letisha Lassiter presented the Wells Fargo Technical Scholarship to Ronnie Williams, R-CCC barbering student.

Other scholarships given were from the following foundations, clubs, businesses and community leaders: Golden Leaf Foundation, Ahoskie Rotary Club, Aulander Rotary Club, Nucor, Dr. Harold E. Mitchell and Julian P. Freeman. Scholarships totaling approximately $36,000 were given.

R-CCC is celebrating its 50th year anniversary and has kicked off its capital campaign, setting a goal to raise $500,000 over the next few months. These funds are instrumental in aiding students going to school as well as in assisting the College in providing other meaningful opportunities for the college community. If you are interested in giving a contribution or creating a legacy at R-CCC to support these efforts, contact Tarsha Dudley at tdudley@roanokechowan.edu or call her at 252-862-1308 for more information.

The complete list of scholarship sponsors and recipients are as follows:

Ahoskie Rotary Club: Trayonna Sears-Merritt

Aulander Rotary Club: Billie Jo Dunlow

DuPont L. Davis Scholarship: Addie Holloman

Freeman Family Scholarship: Addie Holloman

Golden Leaf Foundation Scholarship: Judy Baker, Ruby Bond, Khatysia Brown, Casey Marie Cloe, Addie Holloman, Ernestine Lathan, Jazmon Robertson, Tre’Von Watford, Wanda White, Courtney Wiggins, and Whitney Wiggins

Harold E. Mitchell Scholarship: Ronnie Williams

Hertford County Commissioners’ Scholarship: Addie Holloman

Julian P. Freeman Scholarship: Billie Jo Dunlow

Nucor Scholarship: Shelby R. Jones, Jamel B. Rountree, Krystina J. Smith, Lauren M. Storey, and Brandon M. Williams

SECU Foundation Two-Year Program: Tracey Mitchell Ridley, and Paul Tilley

SECU Foundation Continuing Education Program: Virginia Barrow, Susan Basnight, Peggy Cary, Anisha Cherry, Yvonne Cross, Mashauna Dempsey, Hope Jones, Saundra Stephenson, Janvielle Sutton, and Imani Williams

Wells Fargo Technical Scholarship: Ronnie Williams