Forum features state/local candidates

Published 9:51 am Thursday, February 25, 2016

MURFREESBORO – The best voter is an informed voter.

The public is invited to meet local and state political candidates on the ballot for the March 15 Primary when the African American Caucus of Hertford County hosts a Democratic County and State Forum beginning at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 27 at First Baptist Church Murfreesboro (230 US Highway 158 Business).

“We have invited all Democratic candidates, local and state, to our event,” said Kim Castle, president of the African American Caucus of Hertford County. “When those candidates asked for more details about our event, I told them they needed to be in Murfreesboro on Saturday. If they want people to vote for them, they need to show a face with the name.”

Castle said it’s typical for the majority of local voters to not know a lot about the candidates, especially those seeking office at the state level.

“They can read about their platforms on the Internet, but we feel it’s extremely important for those seeking statewide office to show up at events such as ours,” she stressed. “People in our community need to see them; to hear them.

“We want a big crowd to turn out on Saturday and learn more about these individuals who are seeking political office, both here in Hertford County and in our state. Please come and join us and take part in this very important election,” Castle stated.

Castle added that a continental breakfast will be served as well as cold and hot lunch items.

To date, the African American Caucus of Hertford County has received commitments from the following political candidates listed on the March 15 Primary ballot (their time to address the audience is shown in parenthesis):

Hertford County Board of Commissioners (10 a.m.): Ronald J. Gatling, Scott W. Outlaw, Darren L. Smallwood, F. Garry Lewter, R. Craig Castello, and John D. Horton.

NC Commissioner of Labor (11 a.m.): Mazie Ferguson.

NC Treasurer (11:30 a.m.): Dan Blue II and Ron Elmer.

NC Attorney General (12 noon): Marcus W. Williams.

NC Superintendent of Public Instruction (12:30 p.m.): June Atkinson.

U.S. Senate (1 p.m.): Deborah K. Ross and Chris Rey.

NC Lt. Governor (1:30 p.m.): Linda Coleman, Robert E. Wilson and Ronald L. Newton.

NC Governor (2 p.m.): Ken Spaulding.

Even though she is unopposed on the Primary ballot, incumbent District 3 State Senator Erica Smith-Ingram is scheduled to make remarks at the event.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal