Filing slows to a trickle

Published 10:33 am Monday, December 14, 2015

The second week of the filing period for the March, 2016 Primary was extremely slow, with no new candidates in Bertie, Gates, and Hertford counties.

The first week of filing was dominated by incumbents filing for reelection.

However, one race has developed in Northampton County where Geneva Nicole Riddick of Rich Square filed earlier last week for the District 2 Commissioner’s seat currently held by Virginia Spruill, also of Rich Square. Spruill also filed early last week.

Northampton Commissioner Joe Barrett of Conway (District 1) filed for reelection this week and District 27 (Northampton and Halifax counties) State Representative Michael Wray has filed this week.

Last week’s filings in Northampton were Robin Williams for Register of Deeds; Clint Williams (no relation) for Board of Education; and District 3 State Senator Erica Smith-Ingram, who resides in Gaston,

No one filed this week in Bertie County, but an interesting twist developed last week.

Incumbent Annie Wilson of Windsor filed to retain her position as the county’s Register of Deeds, as did District 1 County Commissioner Ronald “Ron” Wesson, also of Windsor.

Bertie Elections Director Shelia Holloman reported that two individuals filled out paperwork last week to be on the November General Election ballot as unaffiliated candidates. One was incumbent District 4 County Commissioner John Trent of Lewiston-Woodvillle. Trent won the seat in 2012 as an unaffiliated candidate.

The other was Kashi B. Hall of Windsor, who is seeking the District 1 Commissioner’s seat.

Holloman said for an individual to gain a spot on the General Election ballot as an unaffiliated candidate, they are first required to gain the signatures (on a petition) of four percent of the total number of registered voters in Bertie County. The deadline for submitting that petition to the Bertie Board of Elections office is June 24, 2016. The Bertie Board of Elections is then required to verify the signatures on the petition to ensure they are registered voters in the county.

No one filed in Hertford County this week, but all incumbents up for reelection in 2016 filed last week: Melanie Storey for Register of Deeds; and County Commissioners Gary Lewter (District 1), Ronald Gatling (District 2), and Bill Mitchell (District 3).

Also filing last week in Hertford County was District 5 House of Representatives member Howard Hunter III of Ahoskie. He currently represents all of Bertie, Gates and Hertford counties and a portion of Pasquotank in the General Assembly.

Nobody filed in Gates County this week, all incumbents seeking reelection in Gates County filed last week: Cathy Horton for Register of Deeds; County Commissioners Linda Hofler (Hobbsville District), and Henry Jordan (Sunbury District); and Board of Education members Ray Felton (Eure District), and Claire Whitehurst (Corapeake District).

The filing period in all four counties ends at 12 noon on Monday, Dec. 21. Those wishing to file for any of the seats available during this election cycle can do so by visiting the Board of Elections office in your county of residence. Those offices are open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.

The Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, March 15, 2016. The deadline to register to vote in the Primary is 25 days prior to that election.