Incumbents file

Published 10:39 am Monday, December 7, 2015

The first week of the filing period for the March, 2016 Primary ended with incumbents dominating the process.

However, one race has developed in Northampton County where Geneva Nicole Riddick of Rich Square filed earlier this week for the District 2 Commissioner’s seat currently held by Virginia Spruill, also of Rich Square. Spruill also filed earlier this week.

As of noon on Friday, incumbent Northampton Commissioner Joe Barrett of Conway (District 1) had yet to file.

Three other incumbents also filed in Northampton County this week: Robin Williams for Register of Deeds; Clint Williams (no relation) for Board of Education; and District 3 State Senator Erica Smith-Ingram, who resides in Gaston.

Filing was slow this week in Bertie County, but an interesting twist has developed there.

Incumbent Annie Wilson of Windsor filed to retain her position as the county’s Register of Deeds, as did District 1 County Commissioner Ronald “Ron” Wesson, also of Windsor.

Bertie Elections Director Shelia Holloman reported that two individuals filled out paperwork this week to be on the November General Election ballot as unaffiliated candidates. One was incumbent District 4 County Commissioner John Trent of Lewiston-Woodvillle. Trent won the seat in 2012 as an unaffiliated candidate. The other was Kashi B. Hall of Windsor, who is seeking the District 1 Commissioner’s seat.

Holloman said for an individual to gain a spot on the General Election ballot as an unaffiliated candidate, they are first required to gain the signatures (on a petition) of four percent of the total number of registered voters in Bertie County. The deadline for submitting that petition to the Bertie Board of Elections office is June 24, 2016. The Bertie Board of Elections is then required to verify the signatures on the petition to ensure they are registered voters in the county.

In Hertford County, all incumbents up for election this year filed earlier this week: Register of Deeds Melanie Storey for Register of Deeds; and County Commissioners Gary Lewter (District 1), Ronald Gatling (District 2), and Bill Mitchell (District 3).

Also filing this week in Hertford County was District 5 House of Representatives member Howard Hunter III of Ahoskie. He currently represents all of Bertie, Gates and Hertford counties and a portion of Pasquotank in the General Assembly.

All incumbents seeking reelection in Gates County filed this week: Cathy Horton for Register of Deeds; County Commissioners Linda Hofler (Hobbsville District), and Henry Jordan (Sunbury District); and Board of Education members Ray Felton (Eure District), and Claire Whitehurst (Corapeake District).

The filing period in all four counties ends at 12 noon on Monday, Dec. 21. Those wishing to file for any of the seats available during this election cycle can do so by visiting the Board of Elections office in your county of residence. Those offices are open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.

The Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, March 15, 2016. The deadline to register to vote in the Primary is 25 days prior to that election.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal