Webb earns another term

Published 9:47 am Thursday, November 6, 2014

GATESVILLE – There is no change in the top law enforcement officer of Gates County.

Ed Webb, the incumbent Democrat, defeated Republican challenger James (Gary) Ingram in the race for Gates County Sheriff during Tuesday’s General Election.

Webb, who had the winning edge in five of the county’s six precincts, collected 1,895 votes compared to 1,470 for Ingram. The vote totals are unofficial until the Gates County Board of Elections conducts a canvass next week.

“I appreciate the support of the citizens of our county,” Webb said Wednesday morning. “My staff and I will continue to serve and protect our citizens.”

For Webb, the win means a fifth term in office. He was first sworn in as Sheriff in the fall of 1998 after defeating incumbent Elmo Benton in the May Primary of that same year.

“I’m looking forward to another term,” Webb noted. “As it has been in the past, my door remains open to the public and I encourage them to contact me with any issues they have.”

In collecting a shade over 56 percent of the vote, Webb defeated his challenger 276-153 in the Gatesville precinct; 193-161 in Eure; 284-282 in Gates; 233-113 in Sunbury (Precinct 4 South); and 202-160 in Hobbsville. Webb also had a 483-316 edge in One-Stop voting.

Ingram carried the Corapeake area (Precinct 4 North) by a 267-213 margin.

Webb defeated Ingram four years ago by a much wider margin, winning by exactly 900 votes (2,117-1,217).

Three County Commissioners were on Tuesday’s ballot, each running unopposed in their district. Incumbent Jack Owens of Gatesville earned another term with 2,426 votes. Eure District Commissioner Billy F. Felton was elected for the first time (2,569 votes) after filling the unexpired term of the late Johnny Hora. Ray Freeman III collected 2,542 votes to complete his bid to fill the Gates District seat, now held by Kenneth Jernigan who is retiring.

Incumbent Clerk of Court Nell Wiggins was also unchallenged and earned another term with 2,717 votes.

Rick Morgan collected 2,338 votes to win a seat on the Gates County Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors.

Republican incumbent Bill Cook was reelected to another term representing District 1 in the NC Senate. He outdistanced Democrat and former District 1 Senator Stan White, 31,887-27,808. Gates County voters favored White (1,758-1,542), as did voters in Pasquotank (5,706-4,310), and Hyde (1,087-669).

Cook led the balloting in Perquimans (2,350-1,678), Camden (1,846-1,261), Currituck (4,859-2,581), Dare (6,784-5,845) and Beaufort (9,527-7,892) counties.

In the race for District I Attorney, R. Andrew Womble, a Republican, defeated Democrat Nancy Lamb (24,357-21,411) in a multi-county race. However, Gates County voters favored Lamb (1,731-1,593).

The 2014 election cycle saw 3,432 (40.76%) of Gates County’s 8,421 registered voters cast a ballot.

About Cal Bryant

Cal Bryant, a 40-year veteran of the newspaper industry, serves as the Editor at Roanoke-Chowan Publications, publishers of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald, Gates County Index, and Front Porch Living magazine.

email author More by Cal