Municipal filing continues

Published 6:09 pm Sunday, July 14, 2013

Persons wishing to be on the November ballot seeking election to a municipal office in the Roanoke-Chowan area began the process when candidate filing began last Friday (July 5) at 12 noon.

As of the first week of filing it seems incumbents will be seeking to retain their posts as few challengers for many of the town council seats or mayoral office have emerged so far; but there is still a week to go before filing ends.

In Bertie County long-time Powellsville mayor Thomas Asbell was one of the first to file, throwing his hat into the ring on the first filing date. Filing this week were the three current Powellsville town commissioners hoping to retain their seats: Carlyle Hoggard, James Peele, and Joseph (JT) Watford.

Both Roxobel mayor Gary Johnson and three of the four incumbents for town council: David Baisey, Henry Boschen, and Sammy Pruden all filed on July 11.

Windsor mayor James F. Hoggard, III filed for a second term on July 11.  David Overton was the first to file for Windsor Town Council, doing so on July 5, as did Lawrence Carter, seeking election for the final two years on the unexpired term of Hoyt Cooper, who moved out of town. Cathy Wilson has also filed to fill the unexpired two years remaining on the term of the late Collins Cooper, while Windsor Council incumbent Joe Alexander has filed for re-election.

Five seats are up for election in Kelford, but so far only incumbents Letitia Harris and John (Timmy) Eaton have filed.

Colerain Councilman Bill Harrell is so far the only one to file for one of the three four-year seats. Also on the ballot will be the unexpired term of council member Thomas Waicul will be on the ballot. Anthony Rawls was appointed to the seat upon Waicul’s resignation; the person winning that position will be in office through 2015.

In Aulander, Jason Tinkham filed hoping to retain his seat; one of three up for election.

Over in Hertford County, Charles Freeman has filed for Ahoskie Town Council in Ward-A, hoping to be elected to the seat currently held by Malcolm Copeland. In Ahoskie Ward-B, former Hertford County Sheriff Winfred Hardy has filed for re-election.

Harrellsville mayor Robert Dantz was one of the earliest filers in the county, hoping to be elected to another term. Also filing early was Councilwoman Deborah Baker. One newcomer on the ballot for Harrellsville Town Council will be Lisa Ann Hunnicutt, who filed on the first day.

Four of the five incumbents on the Murfreesboro Town Council have filed for re-election. They are: Gloria Odum, Randy Roberts, Sarah Whitley Wallace, and Hal Thomas. Murfreesboro mayor John Hinton has filed for re-election.

For Cofield, only current commissioner Nettie (Teen) Combo Brickers has filed so far for one of the five seats available.

Northampton County filers include Gail Wade and James Thomas Jilcott for Conway town commissioner, with five seats available there.

Three Northampton mayoral candidates have emerged after the first week of filing: Roy Bell for the office in Garysburg, Doris (Peggy) Risper in Rich Square and Jason Moore in Gaston.

Three candidates have filed for on two seats available for Gaston Town Commissioner: Tony Hux, Sr., Alice Delbridge, and Franklin Manning.

Jackson Town Commissioner office-seekers that have filed so far are Karin Clements, Jason Morris, and Mary Ann Crawley.

And rounding out Northampton’s first week of filing in Lasker, Robin Gibson has filed for town council.

Filing throughout the Roanoke-Chowan area will end at 12 noon on Friday, July 19, two weeks after it opened, with Election Day 2013 set for Tuesday, Nov. 5.