HCPS honors staff retirees

Published 6:26 pm Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Submitted by Hertford County Public Schools

At the end of the 2012-2013 school year, Hertford County Public Schools had 19 retirees to close the door on their time with the district and move on to the next phase of life.

Also the district is sad to say that they lost two employees this year that were going to retire at the end of the school year. Together these individuals represented 367 years of service to the Hertford County Public Schools.

They celebrated their years of service at the District Retirement Celebration held at Murfreesboro Baptist Church. The Rev. Dr. Christopher L. Canipe gave greetings from the church as well as the community.

Also Curtis Freeman, County Commissioner Chairman, and David Shields, HCPS Board of Education Chairman, gave greetings to the retirees, and guests.

The welcome was gracefully extended from Dr. Valerie O’Kelley, HCPS Assistant Superintendent. John Horton, HCPS Board member, gave the invocation and the blessing of the food.

The retirees had a chance to mingle and conversant with their colleagues over a fabulous dinner.

HCPS Superintendent Dr. Michael Perry gave words of encouragement to the retirees. School Board members Sheila J. Porter, Vice-Chair, and J. Wendell Hall gave special tributes to the retirees.

Plaques of service were presented from Human Resource Department along with the directors and principals to the honored guest before the closing remarks from Board member Dennis Deloatch.

Family members of the deceased employees were presented with plaques in loving memory of their loved ones for their years of service. The district will truly miss these employees who have been a pillar to Hertford County Public Schools.

To all of HCPS retirees, Brunet Parker, Public Information Officer replied, “As a chapter closes in life, and a new one starts remember to look forward to the years ahead, we at HCPS will always remember you in our hearts for your dedication and service through the years.”

The retirees included (with years of service in parenthesis):

Dr. Catherine Allen – Central Office; K-12 Curriculum & Instruction Director (16);

Eddie Allen, Jr. – Hertford County Middle School PE Teacher and Athletic Director (31);

Sandra Brown – Riverview Elementary School Instructional Assistant (6);

Phyllis Burke – Hertford County Middle School Child Nutrition Assistant (7);

Fredrick Burwell – Hertford County High School CTE Teacher (11);

Patsy Degroot – Riverview Elementary School First Grade Teacher (9);

Frances Evans – Bearfield Primary School Reading Specialist      (27);

Clarine Futrell – Ahoskie Elementary School Custodian (7);

Charles Haskins – Ahoskie Elementary School Music Teacher (12);

Minerva Jordan – Hertford County Middle School Exceptional Assistant (11);

Gloria Parker – Hertford County High School Receptionist (21);

Saint Roberson – Ahoskie Elementary School Head Custodian (36);

Levonia Sams-Kenton – Ahoskie Elementary School Reading Teacher (13);

Stella Smith – Hertford County High School Guidance Assistant (29);

Deborah Spence  – NGSA Science Teacher (5);

Armando Trivino – Hertford County Middle School Spanish Teacher (6);

Clordell Vick – Hertford County Middle School Head Custodian (22);

Meritha Ward – Hertford County High School CTE Teacher (30);

Olivia Worthington – Hertford County Middle School Child Nutrition Manager (24)

In Loving Memory

Teresa Calvert – Hertford County Middle School Exceptional Teacher (31);

Reuben Cooper – Central Office Painter (13).