RCNH wins state press award

Published 7:25 pm Sunday, March 31, 2013

CHAPEL HILL – At the top….that’s where your community newspaper was judged.

The North Carolina Press Association announced the winners of the 2012 News, Editorial and Photojournalism Contest during its annual meeting and Winter Institute held March 21 in Chapel Hill. There, the news staff of the Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald was awarded first place in the Best Community Coverage category.

“I’m very proud of Cal (Bryant) and our news staff,” said RCNH Publisher Joe Cowart. “They work extremely hard to bring our readers the best local news coverage possible. They dedicate themselves in being the number one source for news in the Roanoke-Chowan area. It’s gives me much satisfaction to know they were acknowledged by the North Carolina Press Association for being number one for Best Community Coverage in the entire state.”

The Roanoke-Chowan News-Herald is part of the NCPA’s Class C (circulation of more than 10,000) Community Division (Class C). There are three divisions each for community (non-daily) and daily newspapers, with each based on circulation.

The contest attracts thousands of entries each year and is judged by a Press Association from another state.

As part of the NCPA’s annual meeting, Goldsboro native Carl Kasell was honored as the 2013 North Carolinian of the Year award.

Kasell is currently the co-host and judge for the popular National Public Radio news quiz program, Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me. He was the news announcer for NPR’s Morning Edition for 30 years. He started his radio career in Goldsboro and then went on to help found WUNC at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill while a student there.

The North Carolina Press Association honored Kasell for his many years of service to journalism in North Carolina and throughout the nation. In addition to his role on Wait, Wait…, he serves as a roving ambassador for NPR, traveling throughout the country.

In recognition of his travels and the many events he attends throughout the year, NCPA President Hal Tanner III presented Kasell with special cufflinks from Tiffany’s in the shape of airplanes.

In presenting the award, Tanner, who is publisher of The Goldsboro News-Argus, pointed out that the 2008 recipient of NCPA’s North Carolinian of the Year also grew up in Goldsboro. That honoree was Gene Roberts, former editor of The Philadelphia Inquirer and manager editor of The New York Times.

“Carl was an easy choice for many reasons,” Tanner said of Kasell. “He is highly regarded by journalists everywhere for his integrity and commitment to fairness and honesty. We are proud of his North Carolina roots and his continuing connection to the Tar Heel state.”

A video tribute to Kasell, including cameos by Wait, Wait… host Peter Sagal and a former intern of Kasell’s, Katie Couric, is available for viewing at http://tinyurl.com/NCPA-kassel.

NCPA presents the North Carolinian of the Year to honor residents who have excelled in various fields and served the state throughout their careers. Former winners of the North Carolinian of the Year include Erskine Bowles, Jerry Richardson, Richard Petty, Gen. Hugh Shelton, Bob Timberlake, Gene Roberts and Dean Smith.