Carter chosen

Published 8:43 am Tuesday, December 4, 2012

JACKSON – The Northampton County Board of Commissioners has a new chair and vice chair for the upcoming year.

On Monday, Commissioners Robert Carter and Virginia Spruill were chosen by their colleagues to be Chair and Vice Chair, respectively.

Meanwhile, Spruill along with Commissioner Joe Barrett took their oaths of office administered by Clerk of Court Laquitta Green Cooper. Spruill was reelected in November for another term. Barrett was elected to the board after being appointed in May to replace Rev. James Hester. Spruill and Barrett ran uncontested in their districts.

Spruill thanked the citizens for their support during election time.

“I will endeavor to do my very, very best,” she said.

Board Attorney Charles Vaughan opened the floor for nominations for Chair of the Board.

Spruill nominated Carter for the position and no other nominee was offered. The nominations were closed and Carter was elected as chair.

The floor was then opened for nominees for Vice Chair of the Board. Carter nominated Spruill and Commissioner Chester Deloatch suggested Commissioner Fannie Greene. The nominations were closed with no other names being brought forth.

Spruill was selected as Vice Chair after received the majority of the votes (3) with Spruill voting for herself along with Barrett and Carter.

Greene voted for herself along with Deloatch.

Carter thanked his fellow board members for the confidence they placed in him to serve in the chair position.

“I want you to know as I move about serving in this position I will always hold Northampton County in top priority as I go about trying to do the duty of the chairman of this board,” he said. “I will never put, yours truly Robert Carter, in front of the benefit for this county.”

In other board news, Vaughan was reappointed as Board Attorney; Kimberly Turner was reappointed as Clerk to the Board; and Mary Faison as Assistant Clerk to the Board.