Countdown to Tuesday

Published 10:28 am Monday, November 5, 2012

Tuesday, voters across the United States will head to the polls and cast ballots for the leaders of country, state and local offices.

The same is true here in the Roanoke-Chowan region where the voters of Bertie, Gates, Hertford and Northampton counties will choose leaders at the county, state and national levels.

Polls open at 6:30 a.m. Tuesday and will close at 7:30 p.m. for those who have not already used the One-Stop voting process.

Portions of the ballot will be the same for all four counties.

At the top will be the race for President and Vice President of the United States. The names on the ballot are Barack Obama/Joe Biden (D), Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan (R) and Gary Johnson/James P. Gray (L).

No U.S. Senate race is on the ballot in North Carolina, but local voters will have the opportunity to choose a congressman.  For Bertie, Hertford, Northampton and a portion of Gates, that means selecting one of three candidates in the District One Congressional race. They are incumbent G.K. Butterfield (D), Pete DiLauro (R) and Darryl Holloman (L).

The rest of Gates County is in District Three and will choose between incumbent Walter B. Jones (R) and Erik Anderson (D).

Moving to the state level, the top race on the ballot will be the one to replace retiring Governor Bev. Perdue. Three choices are available to those in North Carolina. They include Walter H. Dalton (D), Pat McCrory (R) and Barbara Howe (L).

The race for Lt. Governor is a two-person contest between Linda D. Coleman (D) and Dan Forest (R).

The rest of the Council of State ballot includes:

Attorney General: Roy Cooper (D);

State Auditor: Beth A. Wood (D), Debra Goldman (R);

Commissioner of Agriculture: Walter Smith (D), Steve Troxler (R);

Commissioner of Insurance: Wayne Goodwin (D), Mike Causey (R);

Commissioner of Labor: John C. Brooks (D), Cherie Berry (R);

Secretary of State: Elaine Marshall (D), Ed Goodwin (R);

Superintendent of Public Instruction: June Atkinson (D), John Tedesco (R);

Treasurer: Janet Cowell (D), Steve Royal (R).

Voters will also have an opportunity to elect a State Senator. Those in Bertie, Hertford and Northampton counties are in District Three where incumbent Clark Jenkins, a Democrat is running unopposed.

Those in Gates County are now in Senate District One and will choose between Stan White (D) and Bill Cook (R).

Voters in Bertie, Gates and Hertford counties have just one name on the ballot for N.C. House of Representatives and that is incumbent Annie W. Mobley (D).

Voters in Northampton County have a choice between incumbent Michael H. Wray (D) and Jesse Shearin (L).

State judicial races on the ballot include:

Associate Justice, Supreme Court: Sam J. Ervin IV, Paul Martin Newby;

Court of Appeals Judge: Linda McGee, David S. Robinson;

Court of Appeals Judge: Wanda Bryant, Marty McGee;

Court of Appeals Judge: Chris Dillon, Cressie Thigpen.

Bertie, Hertford and Northampton counties will choose a Superior Court Judge and a District Court Judge.

Incumbent Superior Court Judge Cy Grant is running unopposed.

Two are vying for the District Court Judgeship of retiring Chief District Court Judge Thomas R.J. Newbern. Those seeking the seat will be Luther B. Culpepper and Vershenia Ballance Moody.

In Gates County, the citizens will help choose a pair of District Court Judges in the first district. Running unopposed are Edgar L. Barnes and Amber Davis Malarney.

There will also be races in each local county.

Bertie County races include:

Commissioner, District 1: Ronald D. Wesson (D), Angela Simmons Bridges (R);

Commissioner, District 4: Norman M. Cherry Sr. (D), John Trent (U);

Register of Deeds: Annie F. Wilson (D);

Board of Education, District 1: Pamela Chamblee, Bob L. Occena;

Board of Education, District 5: Tarsha Bush Dudley, Arthur (Artie) Johnson


Gates County races include:

Commissioner, Hobbsville District: Linda Hofler (D), Sidney R. Pierce III (R);

Commissioner, Sunbury District: Henry L. Jordan (D), Thomas W. Hill (R);

Register of Deeds: Sharon G. Harrell (D);


Hertford County races include:

Commissioner, District 1: Howard J. Hunter III (D);

Commissioner, District 2: Ronald J. Gatling (D);

Commissioner, District 3: William (Bill) Mitchell Jr. (D);

Register of Deeds: Melanie Storey (D);

Board of Education (Vote for 2): J. Wendell Hall, David L. Shields, Marcus L. Williams


Northampton County races include:

Commissioner, District 1: Joseph R. Barrett (D);

Commissioner, District 2: Virginia D. Spruill (D);

Register of Deeds: Pauline Deloatch (D).