One-Stop voting begins

Published 10:51 am Wednesday, October 17, 2012

One-Stop voting begins Thursday throughout the state of North Carolina.

Locally, residents will have opportunities to vote at a variety of locations in Bertie, Hertford and Northampton counties.

The Bertie County Board of Elections will have a pair of One-Stop sites. One will be at the Elections Office, which is located on Watson Street in Windsor.

Board Elections Director Sheila Holloman said the Windsor site will be open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 6 p.m.

The other site in Bertie County will be the Powellsville Town Hall. The hours for that site will be 9 a.m. -5 p.m. each weekday.

Both locations will be open on one Saturday before the General Election. The Windsor site will be open from 8:30 a.m. until 1 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 3 and the Powellsville site will be open from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m. the same day.

People who wish to vote early in Hertford County can do so at one of three sites available for One-Stop voting, according to Elections Director Sheila Privott.

One such site is at the Elections Office on North King Street in Winton. That office will be open from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. each week day. There will also be Saturday voting in Winton. The office hours will be from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m. on Oct. 20, Oct. 27 and Nov. 3.

Another location in Hertford County will be at the Murfree Center on Broad Street in Murfreesboro. Those wishing to vote at that location can do so from Monday, Oct. 22-Friday Oct. 26 and from Monday, Oct. 29 through Friday, Nov. 2. The office will be open from 1-7 p.m. on those dates.

Saturday voting will be available from 8:30 a.m. until 1 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 3.

The other site will be at the Ahoskie Nutrition Site which is located at 415 Holloman Avenue. Voting at that center will mirror the hours and days of those at the Murfree Center.

Three options will be available to those in Northampton County who wish to take advantage of One-Stop voting.

The primary location will be at the Northampton County Board of Elections Office 305 in Jackson.  Elections Director Susie Squire said her office will be open from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday of each week.

The other two locations will be the Roanoke Center, located at 409 North Main Street in Rich Square, and the E.E. Odom Center, located at 221 Craig Street in Gaston. Each of those locations will be available from 9 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. and 1:30-5 p.m. on weekdays.

All three sites will be open on two Saturdays during the voting process. Voters may cast ballots from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 27 and Saturday, Nov. 3.

One-Stop voting closes at 1 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 3 across the state.