New faces join Northampton School Board

Published 3:24 pm Thursday, May 10, 2012

JACKSON– Retiring Assistant Superintendent Phil A. Matthews received the highest number of votes in his bid for election to the Northampton County Board of Education during Tuesday’s Primary.

Matthews is looking forward to his new duties as he transitions from administrator to board member.

“I feel blessed to be able to continue to serve, especially the young people in their education,” he said.

Matthews, who collected 2,573 votes, said he was surprised he received so much support.

“I’m humbled I got all those votes, he said. “It shows the people inNorthamptonCountyhave placed their confidence in me and with that comes tremendous responsibility.”

Matthews said his objective for the future is helping Northampton County Schools serve its students and help the school system grow.

“I would like Northampton County Schools to do the best job it possibly can do,” he said. “I would like the school system to be able to provide the maximum benefits to the students.”

He added he would also like to see the school district build on its capacity.

Matthews, who captured the majority of the votes in 13 of the county’s 18 precincts, and former board member Clinton M. Williams will join current school board members Marjorie Edwards and Erica Smith-Ingram on the board, according to unofficial results.

Matthews carried the precincts ofConway(229 votes), Creeksville (162),Galatia(167),Jackson(178), Lasker (84),Milwaukee(107),Newtown(125), Pendleton (63), Potecasi (39), Rehobeth (52), Seaboard (172), Severn (86) andWoodland(179). He also topped all 11 candidates in the One-Stop voting where he was named on 243 ballots.

Williams came in second with 2,110 votes. He was the top vote-getter in three precincts (Gaston: 553; Garysburg: 391; andPleasant Hill: 55).

Smith-Ingram was third with 1,921 votes and Edwards rounded out the top four winners with 1,856 ballots cast in her favor. Edwards was the leading candidate in theRich Squareprecinct where she collected 238 votes.

Fifth place, just outside the number seated, was Becky Turner ofJacksonwith 1,576 votes and incumbentLafayette“Lott” Majette with 1,453.

Next was former board member Charles Tyner with 1,396 followed by Anthony Roberts (1,395) and Arnetha Garner (1,294). Roberts topped the voting in theLakeGastonprecinct where he was named on 297 ballots.

Finishing in the bottom two spots were Janett Vaughan Walker with 893 and Terrence L. Boone with 465.


(Staff Writer Amanda VanDerBroek contributed to this story)