Two file against Mitchell

Published 9:04 am Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Two races for a county commission spot heated up Monday.

One of the races is in Hertford County where a pair of candidates filed to run against incumbent District 3 Commissioner William F. “Bill” Mitchell.  Former Commissioner Brenda S. Greene filed to seek the office along with David E. Pope.

That means two of the three seats on the board will now be contested. District 2 Commissioner Ronald Gatling has also filed to retain his seat and will be opposed by retiring Register of Deeds Kathleen Wright.

As of Monday no challenger had filed against incumbent District 1 Commissioner Howard J. Hunter III.

The other commission seat that added a competitor Monday was the District 5 seat on the Gates County Board of Commissioners. Incumbent Graham Twine has filed for reelection and will be opposed by Linda Hofler.

Filing will conclude at 12 noon Wednesday. The slate of candidates thus far includes:

  • NC House District 5 – Annie W. Mobley (I), Linda Blackburn;
  • NC House District 27 Democrat – Michael H. Wray (I), James Mills;
  • NC House District 27 Libertarian – Jesse Shearin;
  • Judicial District 6B District Court Judge – Vershenia Ballance Moody, Luther Culpepper;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 1 Democrat – L.C. Hoggard III (I), Ronald D. Wesson;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 1 Republican – Angela Simmons Bridges;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 4 – Norman M. Cherry Sr. (I);
  • Bertie County Register of Deeds – Annie F. Wilson, Evelyn Wilson Lee;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 4 Democrat – Henry Jordan (I), Chuck Brothers;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 4 Republican – Thomas W. Hill;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 5 – Graham Twine (I), Linda Hofler;
  • Gates County Register of Deeds – Sharon Harrell (I);
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 1 – Howard J. Hunter III (I);
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 2 – Ronald Gatling (I), Kathleen Wright;
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 3 – William F. Mitchell (I), Brenda S. Greene, David E. Pope;
  • Hertford County Register of Deeds – Deborah Morrison, Elvira Spiers, Melanie Storey;
  • Northampton County Board of Education – Marjorie Edwards (I), Clinton McCray Williams; Phil A. Matthews, Terrence L. Boone, Becky Turner, Arnetha Garner, Janett Vaughan Walker;
  • Northampton County Commissioner District 1 – Joseph R. Barrett;
  • Northampton County Commissioner District 2 – Virginia D. Spruill (I);
  • Northampton County Register of Deeds – Pauline E. Deloatch (I).