HC Register race adds third name

Published 11:19 am Thursday, February 23, 2012

The race for Register of Deeds in Hertford County is getting crowded.

A third person has now filed to seek the Democratic nomination to replace outgoing Register of Deeds Kathleen Wright. Deborah Morrison of Winton filed to seek the office, joining current candidates Melanie Storey and current Deputy Register of Deeds Elvira Spiers.

Things also heated up in Bertie County where there is now a race to succeed retiring Register of Deeds Belinda White. Assistant Register of Deeds Annie Wilson filed for the post on the initial day of filing. On Wednesday she was joined by Evelyn Wilson Lee, who works for the Bertie County Tax Office.

Also, the competition for the North Carolina House of Representatives from District 27 took another turn as well. Already, incumbent Michael H. Wray has filed to seek another term, as did former Scotland Neck Mayor James Mills has also filed.

On Wednesday, James Shearin filed as a Libertarian candidate for the district. No Republican his filed in District 27.

The filings to date include:

  • NC House District 5 – Annie W. Mobley (I), Linda Blackburn;
  • NC House District 27 Democrat – Michael H. Wray (I), James Mills;
  • NC House District 27 Libertarian – Jesse Shearin;
  • Judicial District 6B District Court Judge – Vershenia Ballance Moody, Luther Culpepper;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 1 Democrat – L.C. Hoggard III (I), Ronald D. Wesson;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 1 Republican – Angela Simmons Bridges;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 4 – Norman M. Cherry Sr. (I);
  • Bertie County Register of Deeds – Annie F. Wilson, Evelyn Wilson Lee;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 4 Democrat – Henry Jordan (I), Chuck Brothers;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 4 Republican – Thomas W. Hill;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 5 – Graham Twine (I);
  • Gates County Register of Deeds – Sharon Harrell (I);
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 1 – Howard J. Hunter III (I);
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 2 – Ronald Gatling (I), Kathleen Wright;
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 3 – William F. Mitchell (I);
  • Hertford County Register of Deeds – Deborah Morrison, Elvira Spiers, Melanie Storey;
  • Northampton County Board of Education – Marjorie Edwards (I), Clinton McCray Williams; Phil A. Matthews, Terrence L. Boone;
  • Northampton County Commissioner District 1 – Joseph R. Barrett;
  • Northampton County Commissioner District 2 – Virginia D. Spruill (I);
  • Northampton County Register of Deeds – Pauline E. Deloatch (I)