Two counties see trio file for seats

Published 10:15 am Monday, February 20, 2012

With eight filing days remaining, there have already been a number of political races develop in the Roanoke-Chowan region.

The hottest races thus far are for county commissioner. Two counties – Bertie and Gates – will each now have three candidates compete for one seat on their board.

Incumbent District 4 Commissioner Henry Jordan will have two opponents in his bid to earn a second term on the Gates County board. Jordan, a Democrat, will face a primary challenge from Gates County Planning Board member Charles “Chuck” Brothers.

The candidate who wins that primary will also have a challenge in November as Thomas W. Hill filed as a Republican for the seat.

The same is true in Bertie County where incumbent Democrat L.C. Hoggard III will face a primary challenge from Ron Wesson. Republican challenger Angela Simmons Bridges has also filed to run in District 1.

Another challenge that has developed is in North Carolina House District 27 where incumbent Democrat Michael H. Wray has opposition. He will face former Scotland Neck Mayor James Mills.

In Northampton County, only one incumbent has filed to retain a seat on the board of education, but now there is an additional challenger for the four vacant seats. Northampton County Schools Assistant Superintendent Phil A. Matthews, who currently serves on the Conway Board of Commissioners, has filed to run for election to the board.

With the current candidates, the filing looks like this:

  • NC House District 5 – Annie W. Mobley (I), Linda Blackburn;
  • NC House District 27 – Michael H. Wray (I), James Mills;
  • Judicial District 6B District Court Judge – Vershenia Ballance Moody;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 1 Democrat – L.C. Hoggard III (I), Ronald D. Wesson;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 1 Republican – Angela Simmons Bridges;
  • Bertie County Commissioner District 4 – Norman M. Cherry Sr. (I);
  • Bertie County Register of Deeds – Annie F. Wilson;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 4 Democrat – Henry Jordan (I), Chuck Brothers;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 4 Republican – Thomas W. Hill;
  • Gates County Commissioner District 5 – Graham Twine (I);
  • Gates County Register of Deeds – Sharon Harrell (I);
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 1 – Howard J. Hunter III (I);
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 2 – Ronald Gatling (I), Kathleen Wright;
  • Hertford County Commissioner District 3 – William F. Mitchell (I);
  • Hertford County Register of Deeds – Elvira Spiers, Melanie Storey;
  • Northampton County Board of Education – Marjorie Edwards (I), Clinton McCray Williams; Phil A. Matthews;
  • Northampton County Commissioner District 1 – Joseph R. Barrett;
  • Northampton County Commissioner District 2 – Virginia D. Spruill (I);
  • Northampton County Register of Deeds – Pauline E. Deloatch (I)