Filing begins

Published 11:04 am Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Filing for elections opened Monday at 12 noon and it didn’t take long for races to develop.

The race for North Carolina House of Representative in District 5 will see two veteran public servants square off in the Democratic primary.

On the first day of filing, incumbent Annie Mobley filed to retain her seat. She will be challenged by former Ahoskie Mayor Linda Blackburn who filled out the necessary paperwork to become a candidate for that office.

House District 27 saw no such early development. Incumbent Democrat Michael H. Wray of Gaston filed for reelection to the seat, but no one filed against him as of Monday afternoon.

In addition to the regional race, Hertford County saw two other offices develop competition quickly.

Incumbent Hertford County Commissioner Ronald Gatling filed to retain his seat in District 2. He will have company on the ballot, however, as retiring Register of Deeds Kathleen Wright filed for the position.

While Wright is vacating the Register of Deeds post, two newcomers have already filed to take her spot. Deputy Register of Deeds Elvira Spiers filed Monday, as did Hertford County Cooperative Extension employee Melanie Storey. Both filed as Democrats.

Two other Hertford County Commissioners filed for reelection Monday.

Howard J. Hunter III is seeking another term as Commissioner for District 1 while William “Bill” Mitchell is seeking a second term in District 3.

In Northampton County, only a handful of candidates have signed up thus far.

Incumbent Commissioner Virginia D. Spruill filed to retain her District 2 seat.

Also filing were incumbent Register of Deeds Pauline E. Deloatch and school board member Marjorie Edwards.

The only newcomer to file in Northampton County is perennial board of education candidate Clinton McCray Williams.

Bertie County saw two incumbent commissioners file for reelection. Commissioner L.C. Hoggard III filed to retain his District 1 seat and Commissioner Norman M. Cherry Sr. filed to return to his elected position from District 4.

Assistant Register of Deeds Anne F. Wilson filed to replace retiring Register of Deeds Belinda White in Bertie County.

Gates County saw only incumbents file on the opening day.

Commissioner Graham Twine filed to retain his District 5 post while Commissioner Henry Jordan also filled out paperwork to keep his District 4 seat.

Gates County Register of Deeds Sharon Harrell also filed to remain in office.

Filing began Monday at 12 noon and will continue through Wednesday, Feb. 29 at 12 noon.