Blackburn files for reelection

Published 10:05 am Thursday, July 28, 2011

WINTON – Filing is moving slowly in two Roanoke-Chowan towns.

While no one has filed for municipal office in Lewiston-Woodville, a pair of incumbents are seeking reelection in the town of Ahoskie.

Four-term incumbent Mayor Linda Blackburn will seek to return to office in Ahoskie. After being elected to four two-year terms, she will seek her first election since the office was changed to a four-year term.

Also seeking reelection will be Ward A Councilwoman Elaine Myers, who filed with the Hertford County Board of Elections. Myers is seeking her third, four-year term on the council.

Ward B incumbent Maurice Vann had not filed as of 12 noon Wednesday nor had any challengers.

In Lewiston-Woodville, none of the three incumbent commissioners had filed to retain their seats. Those whose terms expire this year include Commissioners Chris Cordon (Lewiston District), Eddie Graham (Woodville District) and Carolyn Jernigan (At-Large).

Filing will continue for the two towns through 12 noon Friday, August 12.