Ahoskie, Lewiston-Woodville filing begins Monday

Published 5:32 am Monday, July 25, 2011

Filing for the final two municipalities in the Roanoke-Chowan region will begin Monday.

Those wishing to seek office in Ahoskie and Lewiston-Woodville local government will begin filing at 12 noon Monday, July 25. The filing process will continue through 12 noon on Monday, August 12.

In Ahoskie, voters will select a mayor and two members of the town board. Incumbent Mayor Linda Blackburn’s term will expire this year. The person elected to the post in November will begin a four-year term, new for the town.

Also up for reelection are Town Councilman Maurice Vann (Ward B) and Councilwoman Elaine Myers (Ward A).

Three commissioners in Lewiston-Woodville will be up for election. Lewiston District Commissioner Chris Cordon, Woodville District Commissioner Eddie Graham and At-Large Commissioner Carolyn Jernigan will see their terms expire December 1.

Filing for Ahoskie and Lewiston –Woodville were delayed due to their board members being elected from districts. A new state statute required a different filing time for such towns.

All other municipalities in the Roanoke-Chowan region have already completed the filing process.