Cofield Mayor race develops

Published 8:26 am Thursday, July 14, 2011

Filing for municipal offices has increased over the last several days throughout the Roanoke-Chowan region. Multiple candidates have filed and some races have developed the region.

The first mayoral race in the area will be in Cofield where incumbent Mayor Hermea Pugh Sr. filed to retain his seat. He will be challenged by newcomer Norris Kirk Taylor.

In addition, all members of the Cofield Town Council have filed to keep their seats. Incumbents seeking reelection to the board include Nettie Teen Brickers-Combo, Anthony Archer, Hermea Pugh Jr., Stephen Lassiter and Darrell Partlow.

Also in Hertford County, current Murfreesboro Mayor John Hinton has filed to retain his seat. As for the town board, two incumbents and one newcomer will seek seats. Incumbents who have filed include Gloria Odum and Sarah Wallace while newcomer Hal Thomas has also entered the race.

Winton Town Council members Charles Jones, Wesley Liverman, McCoy Pierce and Wes Liverman have all filed to retain their seats on the board.

In Harrellsville, Mayor Robert Dantz and council members Deborah A. Baker, Jo M. Liles, Mary Thompson and Roy Worrells Jr. have all filed for reelection.

In Bertie County, filing continues to move along.

Aulander Town Councilman Ron Poppell, who was appointed to the town board to replace Mary Jane Tayloe, has filed to fill out the remainder of the term. Newcomer Corey Ballance will seek a seat on the board.

Kelford Mayor Bailey Parker has filed to retain his seat. Kelford board members Wayne Bland, James Bland and Frank Harris have all signed up to retain their seats.

In Roxobel, only Mayor Gary Johnson and Councilman David Baisey have filed to keep their places on the board.

Earlier, Windsor Town Council members Hoyt Cooper, Collins Cooper and Bob Brown filed to seek reelection. The same is true for Powellsville Mayor Thomas Asbell and Commissioners J.T. Watford, Carlyle Hoggard and James Peele.

The only candidate to file in Colerain is incumbent Commissioner Thomas A. Waicul.

Two newcomers have filed for the office of Mayor of Gaston. Jason Neal Moore and Alice Patrick Delbridge will each seek the office. Others who have filed in the town are incumbent Commissioner Franklin Manning and challenger James Mayo.

In Garysburg, Mayor Roy L. Bell and Commissioners Darryl W. Whittle and Lola Ausby have filed to stay on the board. Newcomer Woodrow W. Harding has also thrown his hat in the ring for one of the town board seats.

Rich Square Mayor Doris “Peggy” Risper has filed to run for reelection along with Commissioners Reginald White, Linwood C. Bryant, Charles Eason and Raymond Joyner.

Two of Lasker’s three commissioners have filed to return to their job. They are Robin A. Gibson and Charles M. Daughtry Jr.

Severn Mayor George H. McGee has filed to run for reelection along with Commissioners Rita Mckeown, Troy Holloman and Eloise Martin.

Two Conway Commissioners have filed for reelection: Alan C. Harris and Phil A. Matthews, as well as a pair of Jackson Commissioners – Stevie Harrell and William R. Futrell Jr.

Seaboard Commissioner Reid V. Harris III has also filed for reelection.

Filing ends at 12 noon tomorrow (Friday).