Northampton filing begins Friday

Published 9:12 am Thursday, June 30, 2011

JACKSON – Tomorrow (Friday) will see municipal filing begin in Northampton County.

There will be eight mayoral elections and dozens of town board seats up in the November election and filing for those seats will begin at 12 noon on July 1 and continue through 12 noon July 15..

In Conway, Mayor Brian E. Bolton’s term expires this year along with all five town board seats. They are currently held by Alan C. Harris, James T. Jilcott, Phil A. Matthews, Gail C. Wade and Willie G. Simmons.

The same situation exists in Garysburg where Mayor Roy L. Bell will be up for reelection along with board members Darryl Whittle, Jearline V. Brown, James M. Mayo, Lola Ausby and Iris F. Williams.

In Gaston, the term of Mayor Tim Andrews will expire along with three of the town’s board members. The terms of Jerry Dickerson, Donald W. Conner and Frank Manning will expire this year.

The current term of Jackson Mayor Jim Gossip also expires at the end of the current year. The seats currently held by Commissioners William R. “Bill” Futrell Jr. and Stevie G. Harrell will also be on the November ballot.

In Lasker, all four members of the elected board will see their terms expire. Mayor Dick Collier and Commissioners Robin Gibson, Charles M. Daughtry Jr. and Charlie Mallory will be up for reelection.

All members of the Rich Square Board of Commissioners and Mayor Doris E. Risper will be ending their current terms. Filing for the seats held by the mayor and Commissioners Charles M. Eason, Raymond Joyner, Joyel Dudley Vick, Reginald White and Linwood C. Bryant will begin this week.

Seaboard will have only two members of its local elected body on the November ballot. The terms of Commissioner R. Vick Harris II and Ed Stevens will expire in 2011.

Severn is another town where the mayor and all board members are elected for two years. The terms of Mayor George H. McGee and Commissioners Royal P. Watson, Franklin L. Ferguson, Eloise P. Martin, Rita Mckeown and Troy Holloman expire this year.

Filing will begin in Woodland for the seats of two commissioners and mayor. The term of Mayor Jay Jenkins and Commissioners Joseph Mitchell and Sidney Joyner will expire this year.

Those wishing to file should go to the Northampton County Board of Elections office located in the J.W. Faison Administration Building just outside of Jackson. The office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. except for 12:30 -1:30 p.m. when it is closed for lunch. The office will also be closed on Independence Day.