Bertie municipal filing set to begin

Published 9:44 am Monday, June 27, 2011

WINDSOR – Filing for most municipalities in Bertie County will begin Friday, July 1.

Those wishing to seek municipal office in Askewville, Aulander, Colerain, Kelford, Powellsville, Roxobel and Windsor must file between July 1 and July 15. Filing for Lewiston-Woodville will be delayed until later in the month due to state statutes effecting town elections for municipalities divided into districts.

Filing will be open from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. each week day at the Bertie County Board of Elections office located at 210 West Watson Street in Windsor.

There will be six mayoral races open during filing. Current Mayors John W. Pierce (Askewville), Larry T. Drew (Aulander), Burney Baker (Colerain), Bailey N. Parker (Kelford), Thomas E. Asbell (Powellsville) and Gary T. Johnson (Roxobel) will be on the November ballot. With the exception of Colerain and Aulander, mayors are elected for two-year terms. Those two towns elect mayors every four years.

In addition to the mayoral races, there will be commissioners seeking election in each of the towns.

In Askewville, the entire three member board is up for election. The seats currently held by Kay Brantley, Rodney Thomas and Michael Baker are up for election.

Aulander will see three seats on the town board up for election. The terms of Commissioners Tony Todd and Janette Tinkham expire this year and will be up for election. In addition, there will be an election for the unexpired term of Mary Jane Tayloe, who resigned from the board. Tayloe was due for reelection 2013 meaning the person elected to seat will serve only the two years left on that term.

Two commissioners in Colerain will be on the ballot. The seats currently held by Ronnie F. Felton and Tom Waicul will be up for election. Waicul was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Anthony H. Rawls.

Kelford will have all five seats on the ballot. The two-year terms of James H. Bland, Harvey Wayne Bland, Frank Harris and Wade Emory expire at the end of this year. The fifth seat was held by the late Tierce T. “Bull” Ruffin, who passed away earlier this year.

The people of Powellsville will also have the entire commission up for election. All three seats on the board will be on the ballot. The current commissioners are James L. Peele, Joseph T. Watford and Carlyle Hoggard.

Roxobel will have all four commissioners on the ballot for the coming election. The current commissioners for the town are David L. Baisey, Stanley F. Harrell, Carroll Minton and Manuel Joyner. Joyner was appointed to the board to fill out the term of the late Harry Culver.

In Windsor, three of the town’s five commission seats will be on the ballot. Those whose terms expire in 2011 are Bobby N. “Bob” Brown, Collins Cooper Jr. and Hoyt Cooper.

The elections office will be open weekdays during the filing period except for Monday, July 4 when Independence Day will be observed and the office will be closed.

For more information, call the Bertie County Board of Elections at 794-5306.