Incumbents sweep Northampton

Published 12:31 am Wednesday, November 3, 2010

JACKSON – The faces occupying the Sheriff, District 4 Commissioner and Clerk of Court positions in Northampton County will not change.

During Tuesday’s General Election, Northampton County voters opted to keep incumbents Wardie P. Vincent (Sheriff), Robert Carter (Commissioner) and Laquitta G. Cooper (Clerk of Court) in office according to the unofficial results.

Vincent, a Democrat, won his bid for a fourth consecutive term in a near landslide garnering 4,672 votes or 62.28 percent.

Challenger Tommy “Tom” Byrum Sr., who ran unaffiliated, earned 2,830 votes or 32.72 percent.

After his victory was proclaimed, Vincent said he was excited about his upcoming fourth term.

“I am very glad the supporters came out in record numbers,” he said. “They let me know early on they were going to support me.”

According to the voter turnout numbers, 51.5 percent of Northampton County registered voters cast ballots on Tuesday.

In the early stages of the Commissioner’s race, Carter, a three-term incumbent, was locked in a tight battle with former Northampton Sheriff John C. Wood. However, Carter began to pull away, eventually earning 4,250 votes (56.49 percent) and edged Wood who earned 3,274 votes (43.51 percent).

“First of all I thank God for giving me the help and strength, and (I thank) the people who had enough confidence in me to re-elect me into my fourth term,” said Carter after his victory was announced. “I don’t plan to change the way I do business in any form or fashion because I am serving the people. I am thankful I am able to serve the citizens.”

Unofficial results showed Cooper, a Democrat, receiving 4,306 votes (56.92 percent) compared to 3,259 votes (43.08 percent) for Caroline M. Long, a Republican.

Cooper, who won the Democratic Primary in May, was appointed to the Clerk of Court seat shortly thereafter upon the retirement of Venus Michelle Spruill.

Other familiar faces securing their positions on the Board of Commissioners in uncontested races include Commission Chairwoman Fannie Greene (District 5) who received 5,140 votes and Commissioner Chester Deloatch Sr. (District 3) who earned 5,071 votes.