Primary to shape November election

Published 4:09 pm Saturday, May 1, 2010

Voters throughout the Roanoke-Chowan region will go to the polls Tuesday.

There will be primary ballots for both Democrats and Republicans in Bertie, Hertford and Northampton counties.

Polls will open Tuesday at 6:30 a.m. and will remain open until 7:30 p.m.

The ballot for all Democrats in the region includes candidates for the United States Senate and U.S. Congress from District I as well as the North Carolina Senate race for District 4.

In the U.S. Senate race, the choices are between Marcus W. Williams, Ann Worthy, current North Carolina Secretary of State Elaine Marshall, Ken Lewis, Susan Harris and former state senator Cal Cunningham.

In District I, U.S. Congressman G.K. Butterfield is seeking reelection, but is being challenged in his party primary by Chad Larkins.

The N.C. Senate race in District 4 pits incumbent Ed Jones against Tee Ferguson.

Republicans in the region will be making choices in the same races.

In the U.S. Senate race, Republicans can choose between incumbent Richard Burr and challengers Larry Linney, Brad Jones and Eddie Burks.

The District I U.S. Congress race will see Ashley Woolard, Jim Miller, Jerry Grimes and John Carter will compete for the Republican nomination.

The N.C. Senate race in District 4 will see Republicans Warren Scott Nail and Rich Halbert square off for the right to move to the November general election.

All three counties will also be voting to choose a Democratic nominee for District Attorney of Judicial District 6B. Incumbent Valerie Mitchell Asbell is being opposed by Gregory L. Perry.

Local primaries will be held in all four counties.

Bertie County

The race for Bertie County Commissioner from District 3 will see three candidates vie for the Democratic nomination. They are incumbent commissioner J. Wallace Perry, Lenton Brown and Curtis E. Bryan.

Two Democrats are also vying for Bertie County Sheriff as incumbent John Holley will meet the challenge of Eddie Graham Jr.

On the Republican side, the only local race features two candidates for Sheriff. They are Brian Knowles and Derrick W. Knox.

Hertford County

Democrats in Hertford County have three choices for Hertford County Commissioner from District I. They include incumbent Johnnie R. Farmer, Carl White and Jimmy Barmer.

There are no locally contested races in the Republican primary in Hertford County.

Northampton County

The Democratic primary in Northampton County will feature races for District 5 County Commissioner, Sheriff and Clerk of Superior Court.

In the District 5 race for Northampton County Commissioner, incumbent Fannie P. Greene is being challenged by Terrence L. Boone.

Incumbent Northampton County Sheriff Wardie P. Vincent Sr. is running for reelection against the challenge of Greg Colson.

Two are vying for the opportunity to become the next Clerk of Superior Court as Shelby W. Ricks and Laquitta G. Cooper are vying for the post.

There are no local races in the Republic Primary.

Northampton County voters, however, will have the opportunity to choose three members of the Board of Education among seven candidates. Incumbents Grace Edwards and Don Johnson are seeking reelection. Also on the ballot are Audrea A. Bennett, Kelvin M. Edwards, Ola H. Gathers, Tyrone Hargrove and Rhonda Taylor.

Gates County

Democrats in Gates County will have several decisions to make when they enter the voting booth.

Gates County Commissioner E. Carlton Nickens will be seeking reelection in District 1. He is opposed by Jack Owens on the ballot.

In District 2, incumbent Commissioner Wade Askew is running against John M. Hora.

District 3 Commissioner H. Kenneth Jernigan will face a pair of opponents in George Robert Walters and Marsha Faulk Langston.

Clerk of Superior Court Nell F. Wiggins will be seeking reelection. She is opposed by Wanda Colbert-Wiggins.

There are no opposed races in the Republican primary.

The election for Gates County Board of Education members will also be on the ballot although all three incumbents are running unopposed. The incumbents are Glenn Douglas Lilley (District 1), Glendale Phelps Boone (District 3) and Leslie S. Byrum (District 5).

Also on the ballot for all four counties will be elections for two seats on the North Carolina Court of Appeals.

One of those elections features incumbent Court of Appeals Justice Ann Marie Calabria against the challenge of Mark E. Klass and Jane Gray.

In the other race, incumbent Rick Elmore is seeking reelection against the challenge of Steven Walker, Leto Copeley and Alton D. Bain.